By: Representatives Brown, Calhoun

To: Rules

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 107

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE PROVINE HIGH 1 2 SCHOOL ROBOTICS' TEAM FOR WINNING THE CHAIRMAN'S AWARD AND 3 REGIONAL CHAMPION AWARD IN THE "FOR INSPIRATION AND RECOGNITION OF 4 SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY" COMPETITION DURING THE BAYOU REGIONAL 5 COMPETITION. 6 WHEREAS, the Provine High School Robotics' Team was awarded the Chairman's Award and Regional Champion Award in the "For 7 Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology" during the 8 9 Bayou Regional Competition; and WHEREAS, because the Provine High School Robotics' Team won 10 the Chairman's Award and Regional Champion Award, they are 11 12 eligible to participate in the championship that will be held in Atlanta, Georgia, in April of this year; and 13 14 WHEREAS, this is the first time that a Mississippi team will be competing for the National Chairman's Award; and 15 WHEREAS, the Chairman's Award is "For Inspiration and 16 Recognition of Science and Technology (F.I.R.S.T), " a most 17 18 prestigious award, and it symbolizes the best partnership effort among team participants; and 19 WHEREAS, the Regional Champion celebrates the alliance that 20 21 wins the Regional Competition; and WHEREAS, members of this intelligent, highly competitive and 2.2 winning team are: Shiniqual Love, Daniel Ball, Krystal Cooper, 23 Jonathan Davis, Kendall Stone, Floyd Clark, Matthew Howard, 24 Gabriel Ballard, Receives Dotson, Joseph McGauran, Cornell Rachal, 25 Jay Grisly, Jason Hardeman, Anthony Ball, Dino Terrell, Kalama 26 Ollie, Eddie Smith, Andric Harris, Kilo Alford-Winfield and Kara 27 28 Washington; and

H. R. No. 107 \* HR07/ R2193\* 07/HR07/R2193 PAGE 1 (GT\HS) N1/2

WHEREAS, this team of students was led to victory by Teacher
Sponsors, Patricia Daniels and Redmond Malone; Delphi Mentors,
Ezra Toney, Sean Hayes, Betty Newsome, Michael Peacock, Erin
Shirley and Tim Toney; and Delphi Mentor and Executive Team
Sponsor, Terrence Mosley; and

34 WHEREAS, the team credits its many sponsors for their 35 success, which are as follows: Delphi Corporation, NASA/LSU, NASA/Ole Miss Space Consortium, Tatum & Wade Attorneys at Law, 36 Community Foundation of Greater Jackson, Jackson State University 37 38 School of Engineering, Jackson Medical Mall Foundation, Nissan North America, Inc., Starn Commodities Group, Belk Metro Center, 39 40 Mr. and Mrs. Gordon W. Skelton, Mr. Thomas Houston, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Embroidery by Romage, Jackson Public Schools 41 42 and Jackson (MS) Alumnae of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.; and WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to 43 44 recognize and commend intelligent and outstanding Mississippi 45 students who bring honor to their school and our state through 46 their scholastic efforts:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Provine High School Robotics' Team for winning the Chairman's Award and Regional Champion Award in the "For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology" during the Bayou Regional Competition.

53 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 54 furnished to the sponsors of the Provine High School Robotics' 55 Team, the Principal of Provine High School and to the members of 56 the Capitol Press Corps.

H. R. No. 107 07/HR07/R2193 PAGE 2 (GT\HS)

## \* HR07/ R2193\*

ST: Provine High School Robotics' Team; commend and congratulate for winning prestigious science and technology competitions.