To: Rules By: Representatives Martinson, Baker (74th), Blackmon, Coleman (65th), Denny, Fleming, Gunn, Smith (27th), Brown

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 88

1 2 3 4	A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE ST. ANDREWS EPISCOPAL HIGH SCHOOL SAINTS SOCCER TEAM AND HEAD COACH ERIC JOHNSON FOR WINNING THEIR SECOND STRAIGHT 1A/2A/3A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
5	WHEREAS, the latest chapter of the St. Andrews Saints dynasty
6	might be the most satisfying of all and that St. Andrews, over the
7	past five years, has been the 1A/2A/3A State Champions
8	semifinalists, and the State Champions for the past two years
9	straight; and
.0	WHEREAS, the Saints finished this season with a 12-6-1

- 10
- 11 record, which culminated with a second consecutive Mississippi
- High School Activities Association (MHSAA) Boys Soccer State 12
- 13 Championship Title; and
- WHEREAS, the Saints were named in the National Soccer Coaches 14
- Association of America's (NSCAA) February 13, 2007, poll as #9 in 15
- 16 Region II of the United States; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the Saints have been ranked as a top team in
- Mississippi for all classifications in The Clarion-Ledger polls 18
- and many of their players have been recognized as Top Performers 19
- by The Clarion-Ledger; and 20
- 21 WHEREAS, in 2007, individual honors were received by several
- 22 players, including the recognition of Aubrey Green, Jordan Hupp,
- Jerrod Myers and Timothy Hopper as "Top Performers"; the naming 23
- 24 and selection of Aubrey Green as Boys Athlete of the Week by The
- Clarion-Ledger in 2007, to The Clarion-Ledger's 2007 First Team 25
- 26 All-State Boys Soccer Team and as a player on the Mississippi
- Association of Coaches All-State Soccer Game which will be played 27
- 28 in June 2007; and the naming and selection of Andrew Serio as the \* HR12/ R2185\* H. R. No. 88 N1/207/HR12/R2185 PAGE 1 (OM\DO)

- 29 Boys Athlete of the Week in 2006 and to The Clarion-Ledger's 2006
- 30 and 2007 Second Team All-State Boys Soccer Team; and
- 31 WHEREAS, over the years a number of the Saints players have
- 32 received All-District and All-State honors; and
- 33 WHEREAS, Head Coach Eric Johnson is coaching the team for his
- 34 fifth year, is a teacher at St. Andrews Episcopal School and is
- 35 also a coach for the area's most recognized select soccer program
- 36 in the Jackson Futbol Club; and
- 37 WHEREAS, Coach Johnson has brought additional honor to
- 38 himself and to St. Andrews upon his selection as Coach of the Year
- 39 in 2006 by the Mississippi Association of Coaches, and in 2007 by
- 40 the Mississippi Soccer Association; and
- WHEREAS, members of the 2007 MHSAA 1A/2A/3A State
- 42 Championship Team include: Seniors: Dennis Daniels #8, Aubrey
- 43 Green (Captain) #11, Jordan Hupp #2, Benson Luk #5, Shiva Patlolla
- 44 #14, Andrew Serio #1 and Steve Stringer #20; Juniors: Walker
- 45 Anderson #26, Maxwell James #16, Jeff Lowery #21 and Sandesh
- 46 Shettar #32; Sophomores: E.B. Martin #4, Jerrod Myers #23, Tolu
- 47 Shekoni #7, Harpreet Singh #25 and Sunny Vig #10; Freshmen:
- 48 Connor Buechler #29, Daniel Duddleston #12, Timothy Hopper #18,
- 49 Will Sneed #15, John Magruder Sullivan #31 and Aubrey Threadgill
- 50 #13; and 8th Graders: Joseph Martin #33 and Sam Martin #24.
- 51 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
- 52 recognize and commend the singular achievements of this talented
- 53 group of student athletes whose incredible success of five seasons
- 54 and two championships has brought honor to their school, their
- 55 enthusiastic community and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 57 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 58 commend and congratulate the St. Andrews Episcopal School Saints
- 59 Soccer Team and Coach Eric Johnson for winning their second
- 60 straight MHSAA 1A/2A/3A State Championship, and extend best wishes

- 61 for continued success in all of their future academic and athletic
- 62 endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 64 furnished to St. Andrews Episcopal High School, Coach Eric Johnson
- and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.