By: Representative Moss

To: Rules

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 86

1 2 3	A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE CORINTH HIGH SCHOOL WARRIORS TENNIS TEAM AND MISSISSIPPI HALL OF FAME COACH LYNN WOOD FOR WINNING THEIR 11TH CLASS 3A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
4	WHEREAS, the Corinth High School Warriors Tennis Team
5	compiled a total of 17 points on Tuesday, May 9, 2006, to win the
6	Class 3A State Championship for the 2005-2006 season and won an
7	unprecedented 11th State Championship for the Corinth High School
8	tennis program; and
9	WHEREAS, the Warriors Tennis Team was superbly coached and
10	inspired by Mississippi Hall of Fame Coach Lynn Wood and Assistant
11	Coach Corine Pierce who have broadened the players' knowledge of
12	the game and refined their skills in execution; and
13	WHEREAS, the Warriors Tennis Team is comprised of the
14	following dedicated members: Landon Breazeale, Ward Bynum,
15	Christina Coleman, Taylor Coombs, Taylor Corder, Anna Curtis,
16	Charlie Curtis, Brittany Damons, Brandon Gardner, Jenny Beth
17	Hendrix, Haley Huggins, Kayla Keefe, Abby Lambert, Kenny Little,
18	Valerie Little, Luke McCullen, Brian McDonnieal, David Palmer,
19	Christina Puckett, Cameron Tye, Sara Windom and Kevin Wood; and
20	WHEREAS, team and individual State Championships compiled by
21	the Corinth tennis program are as follows: team titles (11):
22	1981, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 2002, 2005 and
23	2006; individual titles (26): girls singles (4): Antrice Kay,
24	1980 and 1981; Haley Huggins, 2005 and 2006; boys singles (3):
25	Moore Hallmark, 1986 and 1987; Bobby Middleton, 1991; girls

doubles (8): Lisa McFall/Mary Pierce, 1981; Catherine Smith/Nancy

Smith, 1988, 1989 and 1990; Elizabeth Perry/Courtney Rogers, 1993;

\* HR12/ R2181\*

N1/2

26

27

- 28 Courtney Coleman/Anna Lambert, 2004 and 2005; Abby
- 29 Lambert/Courtney Puckett, 2006; boys doubles (6): Jeff
- 30 Lansdale/Mark McFall, 1986; Torey Hammett/Neil Jones, 1988; Todd
- 31 Archer/Jason Counce, 1990; Niel Hora/Jason Kay, 1992; Joshua
- 32 Bryant/Jay Shipp, 1998; Luke McCullen/David Palmer, 2006; mixed
- 33 doubles (5): Sammy Kay/Lisa Mills, 1981; Robert Williams/Kathi
- 34 Merwin, 1988 and 1989; Michael Wood/Elizabeth Perry, 1991 and
- 35 1992; and
- 36 WHEREAS, Haley Huggins capped the championship and her
- 37 stellar tennis career with a 7-5, 5-7, 6-3 win over Mooreville's
- 38 Brittany Harris in girls singles; and
- 39 WHEREAS, in addition, Haley Huggins, a Corinth High School
- 40 senior, joined Antrice Kay (1980-1981) as the only other Lady
- 41 Warrior to win consecutive championships in the event, finished
- 42 the 2006 season 17-3 and dropped just two other sets outside of
- 43 her three losses; and
- WHEREAS, Abby Lambert is the first eighth grade player to win
- 45 an event title and Christina Puckett followed with a three-set win
- 46 over Newton County in girls doubles with convincing wins of 6-1
- 47 and 6-2; and
- WHEREAS, the Corinth High School Warriors Tennis Team has
- 49 developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a superb degree of
- 50 sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great
- 51 credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring
- 52 great honor to Corinth High School; and
- WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
- 54 recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the
- 55 young people of our state, who are its future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 57 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 58 commend and congratulate the Corinth High School Warriors Tennis
- 59 Team and Mississippi Hall of Fame Coach Lynn Wood for winning
- their 11th Class 3A State Championship, for their outstanding H. R. No. 86 \* HR12/R2181\*

- 61 2005-2006 season and extend warmest wishes for continued success
- 62 in all of their future athletic and academic endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 64 furnished to Coach Lynn Wood, the Principal of Corinth High School
- and to the members of the Capital Press Corps.