By: Representative Reynolds

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 69

1 A RESOLUTION URGING THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS TO FULLY FUND 2 THE SECURE RURAL SCHOOLS AND COMMUNITY SELF-DETERMINATION 3 REAUTHORIZATION ACT.

4 WHEREAS, in 1908, in response to the mounting opposition to 5 the creation of the National Forest System in the West, Congress passed a bill which created a revenue sharing mechanism to offset 6 7 the effects of removing these lands from economic development, 8 specifying that 25% of all revenues generated from the 9 multiple-use management of the National Forests would be shared with the counties to support public roads and public schools; and 10 WHEREAS, from 1908 until 1986, the revenue sharing mechanism 11

12 worked extremely well, before a decline in multiple-use management 13 of National Forests occurred, constituting an 85% decrease among 14 counties in actual revenues generated; and

15 WHEREAS, this revenue crisis led county and school officials to form the National Forest Counties and Schools Coalition in 16 1998, in partnership with the National Association of Counties and 17 other organizations, which in 2000 received congressional support 18 with the passage of the Secure Rural Schools and Community 19 Self-Determination Act (P.L. 106-393), addressing the needs of 20 forest counties and focusing on the creation of a new cooperative 21 partnership between citizens in forest counties and our federal 22 land management agencies; and 23

24 WHEREAS, counties in Mississippi received a total of 25 \$8,457,066.00 last year under the act, \$7,266,845.00 of which was 26 expended under Title I for roads and schools, while \$251,893.00

N1/2

27 was expended on Title II projects and \$938,328.00 was used for 28 Title III projects; and

29 WHEREAS, in 2007, actual U.S. Forest Service receipts for the 30 State of Mississippi are estimated to be only \$2,264,004.00, a 31 drastic reduction in funding for counties already reeling from the 32 effects of the 2005 hurricane season, promising a devastating 33 effect on the state's ability to provide road and bridge 34 maintenance and new road construction; and

35 WHEREAS, the Secure Rural Schools and Community

36 Self-Determination Act has:

37 Restored program finds for students in rural schools and38 prevented the closure of numerous insolated rural schools.

39 Allowed rural county road districts and county road 40 departments to address the severe maintenance backlog resulting 41 from decimated road budgets from 1986 to 1999.

42 Over 70 Resources Advisory Committees (RACs) have been formed 43 under Title II, which have studied and approved over 2,500 44 projects on federal forestlands and adjacent public and private 45 lands using funds that are approved by Forest County Boards of Commissioners, including projects related to: fuel reduction, 46 47 habitat improvement, watershed restoration, road maintenance and 48 rehabilitation, reforestation, campground and trail improvement 49 and noxious weed eradication.

50 Title III projects on forest county lands are also authorized 51 by the act and many counties have effectively invested in projects 52 and programs such as: search and rescue, conservation easements, 53 community wildfire protection planning and forest-related

54 educational programs; and

55 WHEREAS, the loss of these critical funds could mean the end 56 of meaningful and important subsidies and benefits that have 57 helped sustain rural community programs throughout Mississippi: 58 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 59 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby H. R. No. 69 \* HR03/ R2141\*

```
07/HR03/R2141
PAGE 2 (DJ\LH)
```

60 urge the United States Congress to fund a one-year extension of 61 the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act as 62 an emergency appropriation, either finding appropriate offsets or 63 protecting it from a budget point of order, and to develop a 64 long-term solution before the end of fiscal year 2007.

65 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 66 furnished to the President of the United States Senate, the 67 Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, the members 68 of the Mississippi congressional delegation and to the members of 69 the Capitol Press Corps.