By: Representatives Morgan, Broomfield, Davis, Denny, Fleming, Gregory, Hudson, Lott, Moss, Reed, Robinson (84th), Turner, Vince, Watson

To: Rules

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 59

1 2 3	A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE EAST MARION HIGH SCHOOL EAGLES FOOTBALL TEAM FOR ITS OUTSTANDING 2006-2007 SEASON AND FOR WINNING THE STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
4	WHEREAS, the East Marion High School Eagles Football Team
5	finished the 2006-2007 season with an exceptional record of 13-1;
6	and
7	WHEREAS, throughout their season, the Eagles participated in
8	several playoffs, which included victories as the 2A District
9	Champions, 2A South State Champions and 2A State Champions; and
10	WHEREAS, the Eagles were superbly coached and inspired by
11	Head Coach Leslie Peters and assistant coaches, Jammie Allen,
12	Anthony Dillion, Sam Jinkins, Randy Roberts, Matt Robertson and
13	Art Smith, who have broadened the players' knowledge of the game
14	and refined their skills in execution; and
15	WHEREAS, Coach Leslie Peters has brought additional honor to
16	himself and East Marion High School by being selected by the
17	following organizations as Coach of the Year: Hattiesburg
18	American, The Clarion-Ledger, Mississippi Association of Coaches
19	and Division Number 8; and
20	WHEREAS, several of the Eagles have been recognized for their
21	hard work, dedication and superior play this season including the
22	naming of T.J. Echols, Brandon Johnson, Steve Simon, Desmon Sims,
23	Lineol Stokes and Jeffery Wallen as All-District Players; and
24	WHEREAS, in addition, the following players were named as
25	Super 22 Team Players: Scarindo Daniels, Alvien Flowers, Bryan
26	Fortenberry, Ryan Fortenberry, Tate Oliver and Lee Penvry; and

27	WHEREAS, other players such as Scarindo Daniels, Alvien
28	Flowers and Bryan Fortenberry were named as All-State Players, and
29	Tate Oliver rushed an impressive 2000 yards; and
30	WHEREAS, the East Marion High School Eagles have developed a
31	winning and cooperative spirit and a superb degree of
32	sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great
33	credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring
34	great honor to East Marion High School; and
35	WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
36	recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the
37	young people of our state, who are its future:
38	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
39	REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
40	commend and congratulate the East Marion High School Eagles
41	Football Team and Head Coach Leslie Peters for their outstanding
42	2006-2007 season, for winning the State Championship and for
43	displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.
44	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
45	furnished to East Marion High School, Coach Leslie Peters and to
46	the members of the Capitol Press Corps.