1

By: Representative Moore

To: Rules

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 36

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING WILL COX, MICHAEL 2 GOSS, JACOB MASSEY, RAM MILLER, SHAWN MYRICK, WILL THIBODEAUX AND WESLEY WILDMON UPON BEING HONORED AS OUTSTANDING STUDENT ATHLETES, 3 4 CITIZENS AND LEADERS AND RECOGNIZED ON THE SPIRIT OF AMERICA DAY 5 XXXVTT. 6 WHEREAS, Governor Haley Barbour has proclaimed March 5, 2007, 7 as "The Spirit of America Day in Mississippi" and is providing awards to deserving student athletes, citizens and leaders; and 8 9 WHEREAS, recipients of the awards symbolize the very finest examples to their school, families and communities; and 10 WHEREAS, as examples to the community, these students inspire 11 12 other young people to work hard and give back to the community; 13 and WHEREAS, Will Cox of Oak Hill Academy from Cedar Bluff, 14 Mississippi; Michael Goss of Winona Christian Academy from Sallis, 15 Mississippi; Jacob Massey of Union High School from Union, 16 Mississippi; Ram Miller of Pearl River Central High School of 17 18 Carriere, Mississippi; Shawn Myrick of Northeast Jones High School of Laurel, Mississippi; Will Thibodeaux of Brookhaven High School 19 from Brookhaven, Mississippi; and Wesley Wildmon of Saltillo High 20 21 School from Saltillo, Mississippi, have distinguished themselves as outstanding Mississippi student athletes, citizens and leaders 22 of 2007; and 23

WHEREAS, these fine young men will be honored by America's 24 Foundation on The Spirit of America Day XXXVII on March 5, 2007, 25 in our capital city, Jackson, Mississippi; and 26

27 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize future leaders of our state and nation: 28

* HR03/ R2003* H. R. No. 36 07/HR03/R2003 PAGE 1 (OM\LH)

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 29 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby 30 commend and congratulate Will Cox, Michael Goss, Jacob Massey, Ram 31 32 Miller, Shawn Myrick, Will Thibodeaux and Wesley Wildmon upon 33 being honored and recognized as outstanding student athletes, citizens and leaders on "The Spirit of America Day XXXVII." 34 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 35 furnished to Will Cox, Michael Goss, Jacob Massey, Ram Miller, 36 Shawn Myrick, Will Thibodeaux and Wesley Wildmon and to the 37 38 members of the Capitol Press Corps.