To: Rules

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 32

1 A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE 2006 PINE GROVE HIGH SCHOOL 2 FUTURE FARMERS OF AMERICA (FFA) TEAMS ON WINNING THE STATE 3 CHAMPIONSHIP.

WHEREAS, Pine Grove Future Farmers of America (FFA) students had an exceptional year in 2006 by winning 12 state championships after taking part in federation, district and state FFA contests; and

8 WHEREAS, Pine Grove High School, home to an outstanding 9 chapter of the FFA, was well represented by 87 members divided 10 into 30 teams at the 2006 State Contest, where 23 of the 30 11 competing teams faired exceptionally well, placing in the top 12 three at the state level, with two teams garnering third place and 13 nine teams finishing as state runners-up and bringing great honor 14 to their school; and

WHEREAS, the Junior Poultry Evaluation Team comprised of Laken Smith, Samantha Potts, Mallory Hurt and Megan Heatherly exhibited their ability to judge four categories and completed a written exam to take the State Championship; and

19 WHEREAS, the Junior Horse Evaluation Team comprised of Kayla 20 Chapman, Katelan White, B.J. Alley and Jimmy Jarvis completed a 21 written exam and judged five classes during the competition to 22 clinch the State Championship; and

23 WHEREAS, the Senior Poultry Judging Team comprised of Megan 24 Jones, Christopher Pruitt, Janet Self and Daniel Paganelli 25 exhibited their ability to judge four categories and completed a 26 written exam to take the State Championship; and

H. R. No. 32 07/HR07/R2035 PAGE 1 (DJ\HS) * HR07/ R2035*

N1/2

27 WHEREAS, the Senior Horse Evaluation Team comprised of 28 Cameron Jumper, Wesley Mauney, Anna Palmer, and Heather Loveless 29 judged five classes, completed a written exam and gave two sets of 30 reasons to take the State Championship; and

31 WHEREAS, the Senior Opening and Closing Ceremonies Team 32 comprised of Anna Palmer, Megan Jones, April Lovell, Janet Self, 33 Emily Bates, Lindsay Whitaker and Ben Adams made the best 34 presentation of the FFA opening and closing ceremonies among eight 35 teams represented to take the State Championship; and

36 WHEREAS, the Senior Parliamentary Procedure Team comprised of 37 April Lovell, Haley Hurt, Megan Jones, April Stroupe, Holley Hurt, 38 Lindsay Whitaker and Ben Adams effectively managed a business 39 meeting with presentation of motions and discussions to take the 40 State Championship; and

41 WHEREAS, the Senior Agriculture Issues Team comprised of 42 April Stroupe, Holley Hurt, Emily Bates, Audrey Roberson and Ben 43 Adams completed research and a scrapbook of activities before 44 presenting a forum, completing the exercise with flying colors and 45 captured the State Championship; and

46 WHEREAS, the Junior Dairy Foods Team comprised of Deidra 47 Tyler, Ashley Boykin, Amelia Cissom and Blake Smith completed the 48 same categories as the senior team to take the State Championship, 49 their first time out; and

50 WHEREAS, the Junior Tool ID Team comprised of Shana Holliday, 51 Kisha Moore, Christopher Ralph and Miles Finely earned the right 52 to compete at the state level by qualifying through the federation 53 and district contests and in state competition posting perfect 54 scores throughout the event to secure the State Championship; and

55 WHEREAS, the Junior Opening and Closing Ceremonies Team 56 comprised of Jeremy Mauney, Mallory Hurt, Christopher Ralph, Gage 57 Pannell, Bethany Adams, Michael Winker and Blake Smith made the 58 best presentation of the FFA opening and closing ceremonies among 59 six teams represented to take the State Championship; and

* HR07/ R2035*

H. R. No. 32 07/HR07/R2035 PAGE 2 (DJ\HS) 60 WHEREAS, the Junior Parliamentary Procedure Team comprised of 61 Mallory Hurt, Blake Smith, Bethany Adams, Gage Pannell, Amelia 62 Cissom and Christopher Ralph completed a written exam and 63 performed a skit demonstrating their abilities in parliamentary 64 procedure in effectively conducting a business meeting to take the 65 State Championship; and

66 WHEREAS, the Senior Agriculture Communications Team comprised 67 of Lindsay Whitaker, Bridgett Thomas, Niki Yates, Ben Adams and 68 Janet Self completed a written proposal, made a presentation to a 69 group of judges in a mock sales meeting and also completed a 70 written exam and five individual practicums to take the State 71 Championship and advance to the national level; and

72 WHEREAS, in addition to Pine Grove FFA Junior Teams receiving 73 the outstanding Junior Chapter award based on the activities and 74 member involvement throughout the school year, individual honors 75 were bestowed upon Jeremy Mauney, who was named recipient of the 76 North District Junior Star Farmer Award, based upon his 77 accumulated hours of work and dollars earned over the past three 78 years; and

79 WHEREAS, state runners-up titles went to the teams on Farm 80 Business Management, Junior Floriculture, Junior Nursery 81 Landscape, Tractor Operation, Job Interview, Senior Nursery 82 Landscape, Senior Floriculture and Senior Dairy Foods Evaluation and a third place finish by the Junior Livestock Judging Team; and 83 84 WHEREAS, the Pine Grove High School FFA Team has been 85 superbly coached and inspired by faculty advisor, John-Grady 86 Taylor; and

87 WHEREAS, a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree 88 of skill and knowledge have been developed by the Pine Grove FFA 89 Team, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon 90 the individual members and their advisor and bring much honor to 91 Pine Grove High School; and

H. R. No. 32 * HR07/ R2035* 07/HR07/R2035 PAGE 3 (DJ\HS) 92 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to 93 recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the 94 youth of our state, who are its future:

95 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 96 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby 97 commend and congratulate the Pine Grove High School FFA Team and 98 their advisor, John-Grady Taylor, for their outstanding 99 accomplishments in 2006, for winning twelve Future Farmers of 100 America State Championships and for displaying tireless devotion 101 to their academic endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Pine Grove High School, Advisor John-Grady Taylor and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.