To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 68

1 2 3	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE RIPLEY HIGH SCHOOL TIGER MARCHING BAND FOR WINNING THE 2006 CLASS 3A STATE MARCHING BAND CHAMPIONSHIP.
4	WHEREAS, the Ripley High School Tiger Marching Band was
5	awarded the 2006 Class 3A State Marching Band Championship; and
6	WHEREAS, this outstanding band achieved this honor after a
7	show stopping performance entitled, "007, James Bond"; and
8	WHEREAS, the Ripley Band Program has a long, rich history in
9	winning prestigious band awards, as evidenced by this state title,
LO	which also included the band's placing first in music, second in
L1	marching, second in general effect, first in percussion and third
L2	in guard during the preliminary rounds of competition; and
L3	WHEREAS, the Tiger Band has been superbly instructed and
L4	directed by Sam Cunningham, Tammye Hight, David Epting and student
L5	teacher, Ben Mitchell, who have broadened the members knowledge of
L6	music and refined their skills in execution; and
L7	WHEREAS, members of the Ripley High School Tiger Band
L8	include: Teresa Argueta, Mary Alan Bailey, Tanisha Barkley, Gary
L9	Barnes, Justin Berryman, Tony Black, Daniella Bonilla, Tiffany
20	Brady, Emily Bramlett, Whitley Brotherton, Lacey Brougham, Kelsey
21	Brown, Julia Bullock, Ashley Carroll, Jameka Carroll, Joshua
22	Carruth, Hillary Clark, Emily Clemmer, Katie Conley, Benjamin
23	Cook, Deonta Cook, Alese Cooper, Amanda Cooper, Brittni Danielle
24	Cox, Lanaesha Cox, Blake Crose, Shelby Davis, Justin Driver,
25	Brooke Elliot, Heather Fallon, Patricia Fallon, Kayla Frazier,
26	Chyrone Gaines, Courtney Gibens, Ben Graddy, Joseph Graddy,
27	Bethany Grant, Bryan Graves, Jessica Graves, Candice Green,

```
28 Jessica Grisham, Keith Grisham, Ashley Gullap, Chase Hall, Chelsea
```

- 29 Hall, Molly Hardin, Kate Haynes, Vanna Hobson, C.J. Hopper,
- 30 Antonio Johnson, Derrick Johnson, Nakia Johnson, Shamontae
- 31 Johnson, Troydarius Johnson, Heather Joshlin, Blake Kuykendall,
- 32 Laurin Landsell, Estavia Lee, Katie Lence, Kesha Lewellen, Molly
- 33 Mauney, Forrest McCalmon, Xzeaiver McDonald, Grace McMillan,
- 34 Hillary Medlin, Kerri Miller, Jeffrey Moffitt, Laura Morgan, Dana
- 35 Morton, Devin Morton, Kelly Morton, Jonathan Nabors, Kacey Noe,
- 36 Jalapeno Pate, Amber Prather, Aaron Presley, Dylan Rainey, Liliana
- 37 Rangel, Joseph Reaves, Katie Reaves, Megan Reaves, Katie
- 38 Richardson, Victoria Roberts, Bryson Rogan, Trendy Rogan, Trista
- 39 Rogan, Amberly Rogers, Erika Ruedas, Isamara Ruedas, Justin
- 40 Rutherford, Amanda Shelton, Caitelan Shelton, Nic Shelton, Jacob
- 41 Simpson, Will Simpson, Randy Slocomb, Aaron Smith, Rod Smith,
- 42 David Stafford, Adam Standford, Tiffany Stark, Geordi Talley,
- 43 Chelsey Vance, Eddie Wayne Vance, Brent Walden, Amanda Walker,
- 44 Janisha West, Jasmin Willingham and LeAnna Young; adjunct band
- 45 staff, Andy Allen, Ben McLemore, Joanna Grissom, Stephanie Stubbs,
- 46 Dustin Thrasher, Jason Gunn and Bryan Mitchell; band aides, Mitch
- 47 Farris, Chris Vanslyke, Carrie Simpson, Neshia Norton, Nolan Hill,
- 48 Celeste Pearson, Whitney Stepp and Sherrod Smith; and
- 49 WHEREAS, the Tiger Band has developed a winning and
- 50 cooperative spirit and a superb degree of sportsmanship, and their
- 51 activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual
- 52 players and their coaches and bring great honor to Ripley High
- 53 School; and

PAGE 2 (DJ\LH)

- WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 55 the special accomplishments of such an outstanding group of
- 56 student musicians who have brought honor to their school, their
- 57 parents, their community and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 59 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- THEREIN, That we do hereby commend the Ripley High School Tiger

 H. C. R. No. 68 * HR03/R1233.1*

 07/HR03/R1233.1

- 61 Marching Band and their directors for winning the 2006 Class 3A
- 62 State Marching Band Championship.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 64 furnished to the band directors, Sam Cunningham and Tammy Hight,
- 65 Principal of Ripley High School and to the members of the Capitol
- 66 Press Corps.