By: Representatives Lane, Walley

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 61

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 1 2 WAYNE COUNTY HIGH SCHOOL WAR EAGLES FOOTBALL TEAM FOR ITS 3 OUTSTANDING 2006 SEASON AND FOR WINNING THE CLASS 4A STATE 4 CHAMPIONSHIP. 5 WHEREAS, the Wayne County High School War Eagles Football 6 Team finished the 2006 season with an exceptional undefeated record of 15-0; and 7 8 WHEREAS, throughout the season the War Eagles participated in 9 playoffs, which included victories as the 4A South State Champions 10 and 4A State Champions; and 11 WHEREAS, prior to claiming this year's state title, the Wayne County High School War Eagles won back-to-back state 12 13 championships, winning the 5A State Championship in 2002 and the 4A State Championship in 2003; and 14 15 WHEREAS, the War Eagles were superbly coached and inspired by 16 Coach Marcus Boyles and assistant coaches, Tim Blackwell, Todd Breland, Rusty Milner, Toby Collums, Marvin Chapman, Kelly Murphy, 17 Michael Hall and Will Mason, who have broadened the players' 18 knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and 19 WHEREAS, Coach Marcus Boyles has brought additional honor to 20 21 himself and to Wayne County High School by being selected as Coach 22 of the Year by the Mississippi Association of Coaches; and WHEREAS, several of the War Eagles have been recognized for 23 24 their hard work, dedication and superior play this season, including the naming of Kenneth Whigham, Marquese Ray and Drexler 25 26 Johnson as All-State Team Members; and WHEREAS, the Wayne County High School War Eagles, have 27 28 developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a superb degree of \* HR07/ R1935\* H. C. R. No. 61 N1/2 07/HR07/R1935

```
PAGE 1 (DJ\HS)
```

29 sportsmanship and their activities and attitude reflect great 30 credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring 31 great honor to Wayne County High School; and

32 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize 33 and commend excellence, especially when demonstrated by the young 34 people of our state, who are its future:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 35 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING 36 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Wayne 37 38 County High School War Eagles Football Team, Coach Marcus Boyles and assistant coaches, Tim Blackwell, Todd Breland, Rusty Milner, 39 Toby Collums, Marvin Chapman, Kelly Murphy, Michael Hall and Will 40 Mason, for their outstanding 2006 season, for winning the 4A State 41 Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to their 42 athletic endeavors. 43

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
furnished to Wayne County High School, Coach Marcus Boyles,
assistant coaches, Tim Blackwell, Todd Breland, Rusty Milner, Toby
Collums, Marvin Chapman, Kelly Murphy, Michael Hall and Will
Mason, and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.