By: Representative Young

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 59

1 2 3	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHI THETA KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF "MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY."
4	WHEREAS, on March 21, 2007, members of Phi Theta Kappa, an
5	esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges, which
6	has its international headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, will
7	celebrate "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day"; and
8	WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the
9	outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's
LO	All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful
L1	community and junior college students assembled by the Mississippi
L2	State Board for Community and Junior Colleges, to participate in
L3	the Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team competition;
L4	and
L5	WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as
L6	members of the 2006 All-Mississippi Academic Team: Vernita
L7	Burnett, Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Sasha Burress,
L8	Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Ellenora McGehee,
L9	Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Krista Rushing,
20	Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Emily Booth,
21	Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Mendenhall; Kristina Wood,
22	Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Mendenhall; Kelly Stelzriede,
23	Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; John Windham,
24	Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Charles Leach, East
25	Central Community College in Decatur; Joshua Skinner, East Central
26	Community College in Decatur; Casey Hill, East Mississippi

Community College-Golden Triangle in Mayhew; Ben Williams, East

27

```
28 Mississippi Community College-Golden Triangle in Mayhew; Larry
```

- 29 Ray, East Mississippi Community College in Scooba; Anna Reed, East
- 30 Mississippi Community College in Scooba; Sara Hodges, Hinds
- 31 Community College in Raymond; JoAnne Carter, Hinds Community
- 32 College in Raymond; Cindy Holton, Hinds Community College in
- 33 Raymond; Jessica Fleming, Hinds Community College in Raymond;
- 34 Mallory Simons, Hinds Community College in Raymond; Tiffany
- 35 Taylor, Hinds Community College in Utica; Lindsey Hearn, Hinds
- 36 Community College in Vicksburg; Mitchell Stauts, Hinds Community
- 37 College in Vicksburg; Lee Dozier, Holmes Community College in
- 38 Goodman; Sarah Spencer, Holmes Community College in Goodman; Amber
- 39 Harrison, Holmes Community College in Grenada; Andrew Nail, Holmes
- 40 Community College in Grenada; Sara Balch, Holmes Community College
- 41 in Ridgeland; Jessica Catchings, Holmes Community College in
- 42 Ridgeland; Patricia Lamm, Itawamba Community College in Tupelo;
- 43 Derik Rushing, Itawamba Community College in Tupelo; Jamal Daher,
- 44 Itawamba Community College in Fulton; Edward Wunder, Itawamba
- 45 Community College in Fulton; Amanda Bergin, Jones County Junior
- 46 College in Ellisville; Darren Scoggin, Jones County Junior College
- 47 in Ellisville; Megan Watkins, Meridian Community College in
- 48 Meridian; Daniel Culpepper, Meridian Community College in
- 49 Meridian; Daniel Gilmer, Mississippi Delta Community College in
- 50 Moorhead; Caroline Oakes, Mississippi Delta Community College in
- 51 Moorhead; Paul Wallace, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
- 52 in Gautier; Deeneaus Polk, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community
- 53 College in Gautier; David Dorn, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community
- 54 College in Gulfport; Kristi Hatten, Mississippi Gulf Coast
- 55 Community College in Perkinston; Margaret Caplin, Mississippi Gulf
- 56 Coast Community College in Perkinston; Russell Whitten, Northeast
- 57 Mississippi Community College in Booneville; Mark Williams,
- 58 Northeast Mississippi Community College in Booneville; Wanda
- 59 Moore, Northwest Mississippi Community College in Southaven;
- Wesley Boyd, Northwest Mississippi Community College in Southaven;

 H. C. R. No. 59 * HR07/R1987*

 07/HR07/R1987

 PAGE 2 (DJ\HS)

- 61 Michael Azlin, Northwest Mississippi Community College in
- 62 Senatobia; Alyssa Robson, Northwest Mississippi Community College
- 63 in Senatobia; Aaron Simmons, Pearl River Community College in
- 64 Poplarville; Amanda Strong, Pearl River Community College in
- 65 Hattiesburg; Michelle Guzman, Pearl River Community College in
- 66 Poplarville; Daniel Wise, Pearl River Community College in
- 67 Poplarville; and John Hedges, Southwest Mississippi Community
- 68 College in Summit; and
- 69 WHEREAS, as members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi
- 70 Academic Team, these students have demonstrated impressive
- 71 intellect, outstanding leadership and a determination for
- 72 achieving academic excellence; and
- 73 WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members
- 74 of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned
- 75 great respect and admiration for themselves and their academic
- 76 institutions; and
- 77 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 78 and commend the accomplishments of these students who have brought
- 79 honor to their colleges and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 81 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 82 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the members of
- 83 Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team and extend
- 84 heartiest wishes for success in all of their future endeavors.
- 85 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 86 furnished to Phi Theta Kappa and to the members of the Capitol
- 87 Press Corps.

59