By: Representatives Baker (74th), Malone, Moore, Reeves, Rogers (61st), Rotenberry, Smith (39th), Smith (59th), Weathersby

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 55

⊥	A CONCURR	RENT RESOI	OLLION CO	MMENDING	THE BRANDO	N HIGH SO	THOOL
2	CHEERLEADING S	SQUAD FOR	WINNING	THE CLASS	5 5A LARGE	DIVISION	VARSITY
3	CHAMPIONSHIP.						
4	WHEREAS,	the Branc	lon High	School Ch	neerleading	g Squad co	mpeted

in the 5A Large Varsity Division at the Mississippi High School

- 6 Activities Association (MHSAA) State Cheerleading Competition on
- 7 December 16, 2006, and was selected by the judges as the 2006-2007
- 8 Champions; and

5

- 9 WHEREAS, the Brandon High School Cheerleading Squad, which
- 10 consists of young ladies who are in Grades 9 through 12, competed
- 11 against 95 teams from across this great state; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the cheerleading squad of Brandon High School is
- 13 composed of the following dedicated young ladies: varsity
- 14 members, Samantha Adams, Rebecca Gasson, Magen Harthcock, Chelsey
- 15 Jordan, Kasey Junkin, Laura Lombardo, Carmen McCool, Shana
- 16 Richardson, Kelly Roberts, Chelsea Rushing, Hallie Sennett,
- 17 Malarie Sills, Shelby Sirmon, Arielle St. Pe, Jonsey Thomas,
- 18 Collette Usry, Lauren White and Apryle Whitley; and junior varsity
- 19 members, Taylor Berry, Katie Brown, Hannah Farris, Brittany
- 20 Hutchins, Kayla Morrow, Molly Nail, Taylor Parker, Blair Toney,
- 21 Katelyn Williams and Emily White; and
- 22 WHEREAS, the Brandon High School Cheerleading Squad has been
- 23 superbly coached by David Hanbery, Cory Boyd and Carlos Stokes and
- 24 sponsors, Leah Foster, Heather McKinion and Jennifer Toth, who
- 25 have refined their skills in execution, acrobatics and dance; and

26	WHEREAS, these young ladies have practiced and worked					
27	together for many hours in the pursuit of excellence and have					
28	shown a high degree of sportsmanship; and					
29	WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize					
30	and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by young people					
31	of our state, who are its future:					
32	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF					
33	REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING					
34	THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Brandon					
35	High School Cheerleading Squad upon winning the Class 5A Large					
36	Varsity Division at the MHSAA State Cheerleading Competition and					
37	for being selected as the 2006-2007 champions.					
38	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be					
39	furnished to Brandon High School; cheerleading coaches, David					
40	Hanbery, Cory Boyd and Carlos Stokes; sponsors, Leah Foster,					
41	Heather McKinion and Jennifer Toth; and to the members of the					

55

42

Capitol Press Corps.