By: Representatives Woods, Reynolds

To: Rules

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4

1	A	CONCURRENT	RESOLUTION	REQUESTING	AND	ENCOURAC	SING	CONGRESS
2	TO TAK	E APPROPRIA'	TE ACTION TO	DESIGNATE	A P	ORTION OF	7 MIS	SSISSIPPI

- 3 HIGHWAY 7 AS A FEDERAL HIGHWAY.
- 4 WHEREAS, that portion of Mississippi Highway 7 beginning at
- 5 its intersection with Interstate Highway 55 in Grenada County,
- 6 Mississippi, and extending northeasterly to its intersection with
- 7 U.S. Highway 78 in Marshall County, Mississippi, serves as a
- 8 direct route for connecting a major north-south interstate highway
- 9 with a major northeast-southwest U.S. highway; and
- 10 WHEREAS, travel on and along this described portion of
- 11 Mississippi Highway 7, currently is somewhat confined to use by
- 12 local traffic only and is relatively light considering the
- 13 potential that such route has for providing a shorter and more
- 14 direct route between an existing interstate highway and major U.S.
- 15 highway; and
- 16 WHEREAS, significant economic development and substantial
- 17 fuel savings for the motoring public, including interstate common
- 18 carriers, could be realized through the designation of this state
- 19 highway as a federal highway, along with upgrades and improvements
- 20 that would result therefrom:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 22 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 23 THEREIN, That we do hereby request and encourage the Congress of
- 24 the United States to take appropriate action, including any
- 25 necessary legislation, to designate that portion of Mississippi
- 26 Highway 7 beginning at its intersection with Interstate Highway 55
- 27 in Grenada County, Mississippi, and extending northeasterly to its

H. C. R. No. 4 \* HR40/R111\*

- 28 intersection with U.S. Highway 78 in Marshall County, Mississippi,
- 29 as a federal highway.
- 30 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 31 furnished to the President of the United States Senate, the
- 32 Speaker of the United States House of Representatives and members
- 33 of the Mississippi congressional delegation.