By: Representative Fleming

To: Ports, Harbors and Airports

HOUSE BILL NO. 529

AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 65-1-705, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, 1 2 TO PRESCRIBE TERMS OF OFFICE FOR APPOINTED MEMBERS OF THE PORT 3 MULTI-MODAL FUND COMMITTEE, THE AIRPORT MULTI-MODAL FUND COMMITTEE 4 AND THE PUBLIC TRANSIT MULTI-MODAL FUND COMMITTEE; AND FOR RELATED 5 PURPOSES. 6 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI: SECTION 1. Section 65-1-705, Mississippi Code of 1972, is 7 amended as follows: 8 9 65-1-705. (1) (a) There is hereby created the Port 10 Multi-Modal Fund Committee whose membership shall consist of: (i) Seven (7) directors of ports, appointed by the 11 12 President of the Mississippi Water Resources Association, or their designees, as follows: three (3) directors of the coastal ports 13 14 and four (4) directors of the inland river ports; (ii) The Executive Director of MDA, or his 15 designee; 16 (iii) The Executive Director of MDOT, or his 17 18 designee; and 19 (iv) The Executive Director of the Mississippi Water Resources Association, or his designee. 20 (b) From and after July 1, 2007, members of the Port 21 Multi-Modal Fund Committee, except for the executive directors of 2.2 the Mississippi Development Authority, the Mississippi Department 23 of Transportation and the Mississippi Water Resources Association, 24 shall serve for terms as provided in this paragraph. The 25 Mississippi Water Resources Association shall designate posts for 26 each of the port directors. The director of Post One shall serve 27 28 for an initial term of one (1) year; the directors of Post Two,

H. B. No. 529 * HR03/ R850* 07/HR03/R850 PAGE 1 (JWB\LH) 29 Post Three and Post Four shall serve for an initial term of three 30 (3) years; the directors of Post Five and Post Six shall serve for 31 an initial term of four (4) years; and the director of Post Seven shall serve for an initial term of five (5) years. All succeeding 32 33 terms shall be for five (5) years. Members serving on the 34 committee on June 30, 2007, shall be eligible for reappointment to the committee, and there shall be no limit on the number of terms 35 for which a member may be appointed. 36 (C) A majority of the membership of the committee shall 37 38 constitute a quorum. MDOT shall call meetings of the committee and shall call a meeting for the purpose of reviewing and 39 40 approving applications as required in Section 65-1-707 by not later than August 1 of each fiscal year. 41 42 (2) (a) There is hereby created an Airport Multi-Modal Fund Committee whose membership shall consist of: 43 44 (i) Five (5) directors of airports appointed by 45 the President of the Mississippi Airport Association, or their 46 designees, at least three (3) of whom shall represent airports 47 with commercial passenger service; 48 (ii) The Executive Director of MDA, or his 49 designee; and 50 (iii) The Executive Director of MDOT, or his 51 designee. 52 (b) From and after July 1, 2007, members of the Airport 53 Multi-Modal Fund Committee, except for the executive directors of the Mississippi Development Authority and the Mississippi 54 55 Department of Transportation, shall serve for terms as provided for in this paragraph. The Mississippi Airport Association shall 56 designate posts for each of the airport directors. The director 57 58 of Post One shall serve for an initial term of one (1) year; the director of Post Two shall serve for an initial term of two (2) 59 60 years; the director of Post Three shall serve for an initial term 61 of three (3) years; the director of Post Four shall serve for an * HR03/ R850* H. B. No. 529 07/HR03/R850

PAGE 2 (JWB\LH)

initial term of four (4) years; and the director of Post Five 62 shall serve for an initial term of five (5) years. All 63 64 succeeding terms shall be for five (5) years. Members serving on 65 the committee on June 30, 2007, shall be eligible for 66 reappointment to the committee, and there shall be no limit on the number of terms for which a member may be appointed. 67 68 (c) A majority of the membership of the committee shall constitute a quorum. MDOT shall call meetings of the committee 69 and shall call a meeting for the purpose of reviewing and 70 71 approving applications as required in Section 65-1-707 by not later than August 1 of each fiscal year. 72 73 (3) (a) There is hereby created the Railroad Multi-Modal 74 Fund Committee whose membership shall consist of: 75 (i) The director of each railroad, or his designee; 76 77 (ii) The Executive Director of MDA, or his 78 designee; and (iii) The Executive Director of MDOT, or his 79 80 designee. 81 A majority of the membership of the committee shall (b) 82 constitute a quorum. MDOT shall call meetings of the committee 83 and shall call a meeting for the purpose of reviewing and 84 approving applications as required in Section 65-1-707 by not later than August 1 of each fiscal year. 85 86 (4) (a) There is hereby created the Public Transit Multi-Modal Fund Committee whose membership shall consist of: 87 88 (i) Three (3) directors of transit systems, other than the Coast Transit Authority and the City of Jackson Transit 89 System serving the greater Jackson urbanized area, appointed by 90 91 the President of the Mississippi Public Transit Association, or 92 their designees; 93 (ii) The Executive Director of MDA, or his 94 designee; and * HR03/ R850* H. B. No. 529 07/HR03/R850

PAGE 3 (JWB\LH)

95 (iii) The Executive Director of MDOT, or his96 designee.

(b) From and after July 1, 2007, members of the Public 97 98 Transit Multi-Modal Fund Committee, except for the executive 99 directors of the Mississippi Development Authority and the Mississippi Department of Transportation, shall serve for terms as 100 provided in this paragraph. The Mississippi Public Transit 101 Association shall designate posts for each of the public transit 102 system directors. The director of Post One shall serve for an 103 initial term of one (1) year; the director of Post Two shall serve 104 for an initial term of two (2) years; and the director of Post 105 Three shall serve for an initial term of three (3) years. All 106 107 succeeding terms shall be for three (3) years. Members serving on 108 the committee on June 30, 2007, shall be eligible for reappointment to the committee, and there shall be no limit on the 109 110 number of terms for which a member may be appointed. (c) A majority of the membership of the committee shall 111 constitute a quorum. MDOT shall call meetings of the committee 112 113 and shall call a meeting for the purpose of reviewing and 114 approving applications as required in Section 65-1-707 by not

115 later than August 1 of each fiscal year.

SECTION 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after July 1, 2007.