2007 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Davis

House Resolution 133

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, Mr. Charles "Wick" Moorman leads Norfolk Southern Corporation as Chairman, President, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Chairman of the Board of Directors; and

     WHEREAS, this astute businessman is a native of Hattiesburg, Mississippi, and a graduate of Georgia Tech and Harvard Business School; and

     WHEREAS, he joined the railroad in 1970 and has held senior positions in the corporation's transportation, personnel, labor relations, information technology, strategic planning, corporate planning and services area; and

     WHEREAS, he took over Norfolk Southern's Thoroughbred Technology and Telecommunications subsidiary in 1999, became President and CEO in 2005 and was appointed to his current post in 2006; and

     WHEREAS, in addition to his business accomplishments, he still finds time to participate in community organizations in various capacities, such as Chairman of Norfolk's United Way Campaign, Regional Chairman of the United Way Campaign of South Hampton Roads, Chairman of the WHRO Foundation, Association of American Railroads, Board of Directors for the Center for Energy and Economic Development, Board of Trustees for the John W. Barriger III, National Railroad Library, the Chrysler Museum of Art, the Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges and the Nature Conservancy; and

     WHEREAS, he has been supported in his many endeavors by his wife, Bonnie, and two children; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize and commend native Mississippians who make great strides in business endeavors and bring honor to our state:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend Mr. Charles "Wick" Moorman for his many professional career accomplishments.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Mr. Charles "Wick" Moorman and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.