By: Senator(s) Kirby

To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 26

1	A	RE	ESOLUTI	ION	COMMENI	DING	ANI	D COI	NGR	ATULA	ATING	THE	PEA	ARL 1	HIGH
2	SCHOOL	" E	FIGHTIN	IG I	PIRATES'	' BO	YS S	SOCCI	ΞR	TEAM	FOR	WINN	ING	${\rm THE}$	MHSAA
3	CLASS 4	4A	STATE	CHA	AMPIONSE	HIP	FOR	THE	SE	COND	CONS	ECUT:	IVE	YEA	R.

- WHEREAS, the Pearl High School "Fighting Pirates" Boys Soccer
- 5 Team lost only 2 of 30 games in 2005-2006 on their way to their
- 6 second consecutive season as Mississippi High School Activities
- 7 Association Class 4A State Champions; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the Fighting Pirates not only won the 4A Title, they
- 9 also finished on top of The Clarion-Ledger final Top 10 state poll
- 10 for the first time; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Pearl edged out 5A champion Clinton High School for
- 12 the top MHSAA Boys ranking with a 27-2-1 record. The only meeting
- 13 between the top two teams ended in a scoreless tie; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Coach Brad Biard led a veteran Pearl team with 13
- 15 seniors. At the end of the 2004-2005 season, the Fighting Pirates
- 16 won the 4A Title with a team that was predominantly juniors, so
- 17 the coach felt they would have a good shot at the championship
- 18 again this year with hard work and determination. "Every goal
- 19 scored by our opponents made the team furious." The team allowed
- 20 only 11 goals all season, which computes to 1 goal for every 3-1/2
- 21 hours of playing time; and
- 22 WHEREAS, the fierce defense was anchored by Senior Sweeper
- 23 J.R. Downs. Offensively, the Fighting Pirates were led by Senior
- 24 Lee Williamson (whose biggest goal of the season came in the
- 25 Pirates' 2-1 win over Gautier in the 4A final), Junior David
- 26 Slowick and Sophomore Chris Williams; and

- 27 WHEREAS, the team won the following tournaments on their way
- 28 to the State Championship: DeSoto Central Tournament, Ridgeland
- 29 Showcase, Brandon Tournament, MHSAA 1st Round, MHSAA 2nd Round,
- 30 and MHSAA North State; and
- 31 WHEREAS, the Fighting Pirates' roster is as follows: Chase
- 32 Middleton, Josh Beam, Dillion Walker, Kyle Collins, Nick Foster,
- 33 Tyler Smith, Adam Wade, Dusty Wilson, Aaron Exum, Kevin Clarke,
- 34 J.R. Downs, Chris Williams, Lee Williamson, Scotty Pulliam, David
- 35 Slowik, Dusty Oubre, Aaron Thornton, Tyler Wade, Austin Coley,
- 36 Manny Garcia, Colby Watson, Eric Watts, Michael Scarborough,
- 37 Michael Skaggs, Andy Brooks and Trey Fontaine; and
- 38 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this
- 39 achievement by student athletes who have brought honor to their
- 40 school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 42 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Pearl
- 43 High School "Fighting Pirates" Boys Soccer Team and Coach Brad
- 44 Biard for winning their second consecutive MHSAA Class 4A State
- 45 Championship, and extend to them the best wishes of the Senate in
- 46 their future athletic and academic endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 48 Principal John Buchanan and Coach Brad Biard, and be made
- 49 available to members of the Capitol Press Corps.

PAGE 2