To: Rules

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 596

1 2 3	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHI THETA KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF "MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY."
4	WHEREAS, on March 22, 2006, members of Phi Theta Kappa, an
5	esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges, which
6	has its international headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, will
7	celebrate "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day"; and
8	WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the
9	outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's
10	All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful
11	community and junior college students assembled by the Mississippi

- 12 State Board for Community and Junior Colleges, to participate in
- 13 the Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team competition;
- 14 and
- 15 WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as
- 16 members of the 2005 All-Mississippi Academic Team: Angeline
- 17 Brown, Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Kimberly Hampton,
- 18 Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Joseph Bullen,
- 19 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Kayla Floyd,
- 20 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Rebecca Smith,
- 21 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Laura Smith,
- 22 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Jaimee Jones, East
- 23 Central Community College in Decatur; Laura Foreman, East Central
- 24 Community College in Decatur; Lakeisha Maxer, East Mississippi
- 25 Community College in Scooba; Krystle Darnell, East Mississippi
- 26 Community College in Scooba; William Nicholson, East Mississippi
- 27 Community College in Mayhew; Candice Lancaster, East Mississippi

```
Community College in Mayhew; Phatia Wells, Hinds Community College
28
29
    in Jackson; Wanda Brown, Hinds Community College in Jackson; Amber
30
    Brandon, Hinds Community College in Pearl; Rachel Townsend, Hinds
    Community College in Pearl; Andrea Sims, Hinds Community College
31
32
    in Raymond; Jason Hobert, Hinds Community College in Raymond;
33
    Heather Oakes, Holmes Community College in Goodman; Candace Cain,
34
    Holmes Community College in Goodman; Renee Chamberlain, Holmes
    Community College in Grenada; Jessica Hughes, Holmes Community
35
    College in Grenada; Lee Balch, Holmes Community College in
36
37
    Ridgeland; Ashley Kolak, Holmes Community College in Ridgeland;
38
    Lauren Shook, Itawamba Community College in Fulton; Sherry Henry,
    Itawamba Community College in Fulton; Charles Knapp, Itawamba
39
40
    Community College in Tupelo; Doris Allredge, Itawamba Community
41
    College in Tupelo; Ina Clarene Holcomb, Jones County Junior
    College in Ellisville; Erin Wood, Jones County Junior College in
42
    Ellisville; Sarah Cross, Meridian Community College in Meridian;
43
44
    Wayne McNeer, Meridian Community College in Meridian; Arrie
    Wilson, Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead; Kempton
45
    MacLeod, Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead; Allison
46
47
    Everett, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gautier; Jay
    Johnson, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gautier;
48
49
    Devan Cockrell, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in
    Gulfport; Jada Vierling, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
50
51
    in Perkinston; Cassie Rogers, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community
52
    College in Perkinston; Jessica Allen, Northeast Mississippi
53
    Community College in Booneville; Chauncey Davis-Mauney, Northeast
54
    Mississippi Community College in Booneville; Diane Morris,
55
    Northwest Mississippi Community College in Southaven; Nathaniel
    Freeman, Northwest Mississippi Community College in Southaven;
56
    Brittney French, Northwest Mississippi Community College in
57
58
    Senatobia; Sarah Anderson, Pearl River Community College in
59
    Hattiesburg; Anglea Horton, Pearl River Community College in
60
    Hattiesburg; Mary Cathryn Oldmixon, Pearl River Community College
```

\*SS02/R1301\*

596

S. C. R. No. 06/SS02/R1301

PAGE 2

- 61 in Poplarville; Keyshon Fairley, Pearl River Community College in
- 62 Poplarville; Gwendolyn Crawford, Southwest Mississippi Community
- 63 College in Summit; and Jamey Matte, Southwest Mississippi
- 64 Community College in Summit; and
- WHEREAS, as members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi
- 66 Academic Team, these students have demonstrated impressive
- 67 intellect, outstanding leadership and a determination to achieving
- 68 academic excellence; and
- 69 WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members
- 70 of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned for
- 71 them and their academic institutions the respect and admiration of
- 72 this Legislature; and
- 73 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the
- 74 accomplishments of these students who have brought honor to their
- 75 colleges and to the State of Mississippi:
- 76 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 77 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 78 we do hereby commend and congratulate the members of Phi Theta
- 79 Kappa and extend our heartiest wishes for success in all their
- 80 future endeavors.
- 81 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 82 furnished to Phi Theta Kappa and to the members of the Capitol
- 83 Press Corps.