By: Senator(s) Walls, Simmons, Clarke

To: Rules

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 589

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE
- 2 BENOIT-RAY BROOKS HIGH SCHOOL "TIGERS" FOOTBALL TEAM FOR WINNING
- 3 ITS FIRST CLASS 1A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
- WHEREAS, in just its fourth year of football, the Benoit-Ray
- 5 Brooks High School "Tigers" defeated Mount Olive 52-33 on
- 6 Saturday, December 3, 2005, to win the State Title. The Tigers,
- 7 led by veteran Delta Coach Lewis "Butch" Inmon, finished the
- 8 season 14-0; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Class 1A State Champion Ray Brooks finished atop the
- 10 final Mississippi Associated Press High School Football Poll
- 11 released after the season. The rankings were determined by a
- 12 panel of eight sportswriters across the state; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Ray Brooks and Mount Olive went blow-for-blow for a
- 14 quarter and a half, but just like all previous games this season,
- 15 it was a matter of time before the Tigers started wearing down the
- 16 Pirates' defense. The result: a commanding 52-33 win for the
- 17 State 1A Title; and
- 18 WHEREAS, it was a case of Mount Olive's Jason McNair (nephew
- 19 of Steve McNair) versus Ray Brooks' six horsemen, Running Backs
- 20 Cordero Ireland, Devarcus Ireland, Kozialski Nelson, Timothy
- 21 Graham, Cornelius Lindsey and Wayne Leslie; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Ray Brooks High School is the smallest school in the
- 23 State of Mississippi, with an enrollment of under 300 students,
- 24 and with this victory, the student body and the Community of
- 25 Benoit went home with a first-time football championship to call
- 26 their own; and

```
WHEREAS, Ray Brooks High School is only in its fifth year of
27
28
    existence and its fourth year of organized football; originally,
29
    the students in Benoit attended West Bolivar in Rosedale, but
30
    these students have a new school to attend and another
31
    championship to celebrate as their own; and
32
         WHEREAS, the Tigers were a very physical team, ably coached
    by Head Coach Lewis "Butch" Inmon and Assistant Coaches Jerry
33
    Walker, Hiawathia Brown and Peris Leonard; and
34
         WHEREAS, the 2005 roster of this championship team is as
35
              Rod Baldridge (WR/DB), Chris Brooks (C/DE), Robert
36
37
    Farris (G/DL), Leslie Gardner (T/DL), Timothy Graham (RB/LB),
    Jesse Hunter (WR/DB), Cordero Ireland (RB/LB), Devarcus Ireland
38
39
    (RB/E), Robert Johnson (G/LB), Pierre Jordan (T/DL), Damian Leslie
    (TE/LB), David Leslie (WR/S), Keyardus Leslie (TE/DE), Wayne
40
    Leslie (RB/DB), Anthony Lewis (WR/DB), Cornelius Lindsey (RB/LB),
41
    Deonte Matthews (WR/DE), Travis McGee (QB/DB), Derrick Mitchell
42
43
    (G/DL), Cornelius Myles (G/DL), Eric Nelson (TE/S), Kozialski
44
    Nelson (RB/DB), Jimarcus Petty (WR/DB), Wally Phillips (T/DL),
    Anthony Rivera (WR/LB), Kenny Thomas (WR/LB), Derrick Washington
45
46
    (G/DL), Damian White (T/DL) and Alex Wilson (TE/LB); and
47
         WHEREAS, it is with pride that we recognize the special
    accomplishments of this team which brought honor and identity to
48
    their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:
49
         NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
50
51
    MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
52
    we do hereby commend and congratulate the Benoit-Ray Brooks High
53
    School "Tigers" Football Team, Head Coach Lewis "Butch" Inmon,
    Principal Brenda Hopson and Superintendent Dr. Suzanne Hawley for
54
55
    their State Class 1A Championship and their outstanding 2005-2006
    season, and extend to them the best wishes of the Legislature for
56
57
    future scholastic and athletic successes.
58
         BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
```

Coach Inmon and the team and the Principal of Benoit-Ray Brooks

\*SS26/R1282\*

589

S. C. R. No. 06/SS26/R1282

PAGE 2

59

- 60 High School, Brenda Hopson, and be made available to the Capitol
- 61 Press Corps.