To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 564

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE
2	WEST POINT HIGH SCHOOL "GREEN WAVE" FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH
3	DENNIS ALLEN FOR WINNING THE 2005 4A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
4	WHEREAS, the West Point High School "Green Wave" Football
5	Team sacked the Wayne County Quarterback on back-to-back plays t
6	preserve a heart-stopping 17-15 victory for the Class 4A State

- 7 Championship on Saturday, December 10, 2005, before an estimated
- 8 11,500 crowd at Mississippi Veterans Memorial Stadium; and
- 9 WHEREAS, West Point, ranked No. 6 in The Clarion-Ledger Super
- 10 10 and No. 2 in 4A, finished with a 14-1 record; and
- 11 WHEREAS, it was the fifth state football crown for West
- 12 Point, and the first since 1989. The Green Wave team won four
- 13 Class 4A state titles in the 1980s but was moved to 5A for
- 14 2003-2004. It returned to 4A just before this school year where
- 15 Wayne County had been the toughest team in that class in West
- 16 Point's absence. That torch was returned following this game,
- 17 which MAC 4A Coach of the Year Dennis Allen described as a
- 18 "big-time" upset over a team which had the advantage in size,
- 19 speed, power and game experience, but the Green Wave team expected
- 20 to win, and did; and
- 21 WHEREAS, West Point's offense is led by Quarterback Cliff
- 22 Bailey and Tailback Chris Matthews, but it was West Point's
- 23 defense, and Senior Tackle Lemarcus Witherspoon in particular,
- 24 that saved the day in the championship game; and
- 25 WHEREAS, the roster of the Green Wave team is as follows:
- 26 Antron Davidson, DB; Demarius Doss, LB; Cliff Bailey, QB-WR;
- 27 Eldrick Hogan, WR; Mario Cannon, DB; Derrick Boyd, DB; Travis

```
28 Walker, QB-WR; Courtney Brooks, WR; Jamar Shelton, WR; Chris
```

- 29 Matthews, RB; Parrance Ward, WR; Jonathan Shelton, WR; Reshun
- 30 Randle, WR; Cory Cannon, DB; Xavier Ewing, DL; C.J. Foster, DB;
- 31 Phillip Domino, QB-WR; Britton Atkinson, RB; Charlie Davidson, RB;
- 32 Davin Bascombe, LB; Dequatus Saul, DB; Marvin Hoskins, DB; Dexter
- 33 Shelton, DB; Jimmy Reed, DB; Thomas Gordon, WR; Mario Cox, LB;
- 34 Terrell Virges, LB; Rod Owens, DB; James King, DB; James Ewing,
- 35 LB; Antonio Chandler, DL; Chicosy Ewing, RB; Trevea Williams, WR;
- 36 Chris Rupert, DL; David Tollison, WR; Raffell Larry, WR; Rasheed
- 37 Mitchell, DE; Zack Brown, LB; Kaleb Rush, LB; Darren Hart, WR;
- 38 Justin Travice, DL; Todd Andrews, DL; Avis Shelton, OL; Roderick
- 39 Walker, OL; Lashaun Hopkins, LB; Alex Hill, LB; Jeremy Jones, DL;
- 40 Quartney Cox, OL; Michael Heard, DL; Charles Johnson, OL; Lamarcus
- 41 Witherspoon, DL; Roosevelt Cunningham, OL; Trevail Gandy, DL;
- 42 Jimmy Smith, DL; Lemarcus Mitchell, DL; Cornelius Devine, DL;
- 43 Maurice Heard, DL; Jon Lane, OL; Chris Smith, OL; Flentress
- 44 Murdock, DL; Andrew King, OL; Demarcus Walker, OL; Jason Brand,
- 45 OL; Martin Edwarwds, DL; Kedrick Rush, OL; Robert Gaston, DL;
- 46 Carlos Cole, DB; Chris McFarland, DB; Davis Manning, OL; and
- 47 Austin Berry, DB; Head Football Coach Dennis Allen, MAC 4A Coach
- 48 of the Year; Athletic Director, Bobby Richardson; Assistant
- 49 Coaches: Chris Chambless, Ashley Kuhn, Lee Grisham, Ricky Melton,
- 50 Flozell Wilson, David King, Brent Miley, Eddie Chapman, Clint
- 51 Hoots, Kendall Pickens, Michael Brown and Josh Davis; and
- 52 WHEREAS, the 2005 Mississippi Association of Coaches
- 53 All-State Team members are: Offense: Kendrick Rush, Chris
- 54 Matthews, Jon Lane and Eldrick Hogan; Defense: Lemarius
- 55 Witherspoon, James Ewing, Alex Hill, Derrick Boyd, Kaleb Rush and
- 56 Jamar Shelton; and
- 57 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the
- 58 accomplishments of this championship team which has brought honor
- 59 to their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF S. C. R. No. 564 *SSO2/R772*

- 61 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 62 we do hereby commend and congratulate the West Point High School
- 63 "Green Wave" Football Team and Head Coach Dennis Allen for winning
- 64 the Class 4A State Championship and extend to them the best wishes
- of the Legislature in their future athletic and academic
- 66 endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 68 Principal Bobby Richardson and Coach Dennis Allen on behalf of the
- 69 team and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.