By: Representative Perkins

To: Rules

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 96

1		A RESOLUTI	ON REC	COGNIZING	AND CO	MMENDING	$\mathrm{THE}$	SERV:	ICE,	BRAVE	RY
2	AND	DEDICATION	OF THE	E GREENWOO	DD AREA	SOLDIERS	OF	THE (	C COM	IPANY	OF
^		4 C D D TT CO T TD T	m ====				D 01		7 7 7 7 7 7	-	

- THE 467TH COMBAT ENGINEERING BATTALION, UNITED STATES ARMY
- 4 RESERVES, UPON THEIR RETURN FROM A SUCCESSFUL TOUR OF DUTY IN
- 5 IRAQ.
- 6 WHEREAS, the C Company of the 467th Combat Engineering
- 7 Battalion of the United States Army Reserves, comprised of
- 8 soldiers from Greenwood, Mississippi, and the surrounding area,
- 9 recently returned home after a successful yearlong deployment to
- 10 Iraq; and
- 11 WHEREAS, without hesitation when called to active duty, the
- 12 members of the company selflessly put their civilian lives on hold
- 13 and said goodbye to their families in order to further this great
- 14 nation's security and to aid in establishing a democratic,
- 15 peaceful society in Iraq; and
- 16 WHEREAS, performing beyond all expectations in its
- 17 operations, the C Company's meritorious service in support of
- 18 Operation Iraqi Freedom was a significant contribution to the war
- 19 against terrorism being waged by the United States at home and
- 20 overseas; and
- 21 WHEREAS, the soldiers from the Greenwood area deployed to
- 22 Iraq as members of the C Company of the 467th Combat Engineering
- 23 Battalion, United States Army Reserves, are: 2Lt. Gary Rabatin,
- 24 1Sg. Milton Hunt, Ssg. Demond Johnson, Ssg. Lyndon Earl McDaniel,
- 25 Ssg. James Bernard Floyd, Ssg. Craig Rahmond Ryals, Ssg. Peter
- 26 Wurley Thibodeaux, Jr., Sgt. Rolando G. Galvan, Ssg. Michael
- 27 Alonzo Jackson, Ssg. Maurice Foreman, Sfc. Michael Laverne White,
- 28 Ssg. Lester Leroy Jones, Ssg. Charles Earl Curry, Ssg. Clifton

- 29 King, Sgt. Alfred Lee Haslett, Sgt. Raymond Banks III, Ssg. Tracy
- 30 Austin, Sgt. Wilton Holmes, Ssg. Roger Quinn O'Neal, Sgt. Cordell
- 31 Young Liddell, Sgt. Cleveland Benford, Jr., Ssg. Richard Albert
- 32 Jordan, Spc. Nashon Zorah Jenkins, Spc. Randall Lee Payne, Spc.
- 33 Scott Warren Keller II, Sgt. Stephen Bradley Stallings, Spc.
- 34 Christopher Dean, Spc. Jonathan Edward McAllister, Spc. Charles
- 35 Jerome Nalls, Spc. Norris Dane Jones, Sgt. Victor Lynn Dean, Pfc.
- 36 Lamarcus Donte Nelson, Sfc. Clifton Williams, Jr., and Ssg.
- 37 Phillip M. Marshall; and
- 38 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
- 39 recognize and commend these outstanding Mississippians for their
- 40 personal sacrifices, loyal service to our country and courageous
- 41 efforts to help secure peace and preserve freedom for our state,
- 42 nation and the free world:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 44 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 45 commend the members of the C Company of the 467th Combat
- 46 Engineering Battalion of the United States Army Reserves upon
- 47 their successful return from the company's tour of duty in Iraq
- 48 and express to the soldiers comprising the C Company a warm,
- 49 Mississippi "Welcome home!" and extend pride and gratitude for
- 50 each member's devoted service to the United States.
- 51 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 52 furnished to the commanding officers of the C Company of the 467th
- 53 Combat Engineering Battalion, United States Army Reserves, and to
- 54 the members of the Capitol Press Corps.