By: Representative Reynolds

To: Rules

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 13

1	Α	RESOLUTION	COMMENDING	AND	CONGRATULATING	THE	CHARLESTON

- 2 HIGH SCHOOL TIGERS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING SEASON OF
- 3 PLAY FOR 2005 AND WINNING THE 3A NORTH HALF STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
- 4 WHEREAS, the Charleston High School Tigers Football Team
- 5 finished the 2005 regular season with an outstanding record of 9-1
- 6 in regular season play, and winning the 3A North Half Championship
- 7 of the State of Mississippi and completed their season with a 13-2
- 8 final record; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the Charleston High School Tigers Football Team
- 10 finished No. 2 in Class 3A in the The Associated Press poll and
- 11 No. 3 in the Class 3A in The Clarion-Ledger poll; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the 2005 3A State Championship game was the first
- 13 time for the Charleston Tigers to play in a state championship
- 14 game; and
- WHEREAS, the Tigers scored 503 points in 2005 and only
- 16 allowed 78 points to be scored against them in 15 games, and
- 17 averaged scoring 33 points per game with only allowing 5 points
- 18 per game to be scored against them; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the Charleston High School Tigers Football Team
- 20 consisted of the following players: Charles Harris, LaCruz
- 21 Garfield, Mario Taylor, Robdreck Little, Deshagdrick Biggins,
- 22 Johnny Brown, James Love, Derrick Squaire, Clint Harris, Stacey
- 23 Lake, Jerry Richardson, Marlin Meeks, Kenneth Robey, Marlin
- 24 Little, Richard McGee, Chris Davis, Deranglo Pickens, Timothy
- 25 Kirk, Larry Richardson, Jeremy Cole, Quontaria Murry, Lorenzo
- 26 Townes, Bryan Cole, Steve Johnson, Coderick Govan, Brian Davis,
- 27 Michael Frost, Erron Frost, Michael Bland, James Grantin, Jamiell

- 28 Wallace, Clint Brower, Daniel Tenner, Zack Clolinger, John
- 29 Jennings, Chance Rippee, Isaiah Lee, Ryan Trusty, Greg Suggs,
- 30 Colton Brownlee, Zamarian Meeks, Jeremy Tellis, Brandon Love,
- 31 Chris Russell, Jermaine Johnson, George Wilson, Thomas Fane,
- 32 Darrell Reed, Cordeal Fane; and
- 33 WHEREAS, the Charleston High School Football Team has been
- 34 ably and superbly coached by Head Coach Perry Liles and Assistant
- 35 Coaches Doyle Ellett, Tony Vance, Chris Langford, Wayne Mayhan,
- 36 Don L. Tenner and Nathan Ross; and
- 37 WHEREAS, the Charleston High School Football Team was cheered
- 38 to victory by the Charleston High School Cheerleaders consisting
- 39 of the following: Crystal Paris, Keena Owen, Nicole Govan, Tameka
- 40 Brown, Addie McCord, Francheska House, Lindsey Criswell, Kelsey
- 41 Kuykendall, Chun Jones, Courtney Bradford, Wachovian Drain,
- 42 Keyaria McKinley; and
- WHEREAS, the team's outstanding spirit of teamwork was
- 44 actively and enthusiastically supported by their parents, fans and
- 45 citizens of Charleston and Tallahatchie County, Mississippi; and
- 46 WHEREAS, the 2005 Charleston High School Football Team and
- 47 their coaches and supporters are examples of what can be
- 48 accomplished through teamwork and good sportsmanship; and
- WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives of
- 50 the State of Mississippi to recognize and commend outstanding
- 51 efforts of the youth who are the future of the State of
- 52 Mississippi and this United States of America:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 54 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 55 commend and congratulate the Charleston High School Tigers
- 56 Football Team for their outstanding season of play for 2005 and
- 57 winning the 3A North Half State Championship.
- 58 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 59 furnished to Charleston High School, Head Coach Perry Liles,
- 60 Assistant Coaches Doyle Ellett, Tony Vance, Chris Langford, Wayne

- 61 Mayhan, Don L. Tenner and Nathan Ross, and to the members of the
- 62 Capitol Press Corps.