By: Representatives Holloway, Weathersby

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 60

1 2 3	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE HAZLEHURST HIGH SCHOOL INDIANS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR ITS OUTSTANDING 2005 SEASON AND FOR WINNING THE STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
4	WHEREAS, the Hazlehurst High School Indians Football Team
5	finished the 2005 season with an exceptional record of 12-0; and
6	WHEREAS, throughout their season the Indians participated in
7	playoffs, which included victories as the 2005 District 7A
8	Champions, 2005 South State Champions and the 2005 State
9	Champions; and
10	WHEREAS, the Hazlehurst Indians were superbly coached and
11	inspired by Coach Willie Brown and assistant coaches, Todd
12	McDaniel, Robert McDaniel, Jr., Andre Carter and Brian Miles, who
13	have broadened the players' knowledge of the game and refined
14	their skills in execution; and
15	WHEREAS, Coach Willie Brown has brought additional honor to
16	himself and to Hazlehurst High School by being named Coach of the
17	Year (3A) by the Mississippi Association of Coaches and by being
18	named Coach of the Year by the Brookhaven Daily Leader; and
19	WHEREAS, named District 7 Coach of the Year, Willie Brown
20	also has the great distinction of obtaining the most wins in
21	Hazlehurst High School's history and is the Indians' first coach
22	to have an undefeated season and has had the number one ranked
23	defense in the state for the last two years; and
24	WHEREAS, several of the Indians have been recognized for
25	their hard work, dedication and superior play this season,
26	including the naming of Jazzman Guy, Johnny Sanders and Dearrion

H. C. R. No. 60 *HRO3/R1843* N1/2

Wilbert to the $\underline{\text{Clarion-Ledger}}$ and the Mississippi Association of

- 28 Coaches' All-State Teams as well as the naming of Johnny Sanders
- 29 as District 7 most valuable defensive player; and
- 30 WHEREAS, Damien Anderson, Jazzman Guy, Courtney Hall, Chris
- 31 Harris, Kevin Holmes, Delvin Johnson, Bobby Moore, Dundrea
- 32 Pendleton, Michel Porter, Johnny Sanders and Dearrion Wilbert were
- 33 also recognized for their outstanding skills in football and were
- 34 selected as All-District Team Members; and
- 35 WHEREAS, the Hazlehurst High School Indians Football Team,
- 36 has developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a superb degree
- 37 of sportsmanship and their activities and attitude reflect great
- 38 credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring
- 39 great honor to Hazlehurst High School; and
- 40 WHEREAS, it is with great pleasure that this Legislature
- 41 recognizes and commends excellence, especially when demonstrated
- 42 by the young people of our state, who are its future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 44 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 45 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Hazlehurst
- 46 High School Indians Football Team and Coach Willie Brown for their
- 47 outstanding 2005 season, for winning the state championship and
- 48 for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 50 furnished to Hazlehurst High School, Coach Willie Brown and to the
- 51 members of the Capitol Press Corps.

60