By: Representative Franks

To: Judiciary A; Apportionment and Elections

## HOUSE BILL NO. 810

- AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 9-3-1, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, TO PROVIDE FOR FOUR SUPREME COURT DISTRICTS; TO AMEND SECTION 9-3-11,
- MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, TO PROVIDE THAT THE CHIEF JUSTICE SHALL 3
- BE ELECTED STATEWIDE; TO AMEND SECTIONS 23-15-977 AND 23-15-993, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, IN CONFORMITY; AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES. 4
- 5
- 6 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI:
- 7 **SECTION 1.** Section 9-3-1, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
- amended as follows:
- 9 9-3-1. The state shall be divided into four (4) Supreme
- Court districts, as follows, to wit: 10
- The counties of Attala, Bolivar, Carroll, Claiborne, Coahoma, 11
- Copiah, Hinds, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Jefferson, \* \* \* 12
- 13 Leake, Leflore, Madison, Montgomery, Quitman, Sharkey, Sunflower,
- 14 Tallahatchie, Tunica, Warren, Washington and Yazoo shall
- constitute the First District. 15
- \* \* \* 16
- 17 The counties of Alcorn, \* \* \* Benton, Calhoun, \* \* \*
- Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, \* \* \* DeSoto, Grenada, Itawamba, 18
- Lafayette, Lee, \* \* \* Lowndes, Marshall, Monroe, \* \* \* Panola, 19
- Pontotoc, Prentiss, \* \* \* Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, \* \* \* Union, 20
- 21 Webster, \* \* \* and Yalobusha, shall constitute the Second
- 22 District.
- 23 The counties of Adams, Amite, Covington, Franklin, Jasper,
- 24 Jefferson Davis, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lincoln, Neshoba,
- Newton, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, 25
- Walthall, Wilkinson and Winston shall constitute the Third 26
- 27 District.

- The counties of Clarke, Forrest, George, Greene, Hancock,
- 29 Harrison, Jackson, Jones, Lamar, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Stone
- 30 and Wayne shall constitute the Fourth District.
- 31 **SECTION 2.** Section 9-3-11, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
- 32 amended as follows:
- 33 9-3-11. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court shall be
- 34 elected statewide as provided in Section 23-15-993.
- 35 **SECTION 3.** Section 23-15-977, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
- 36 amended as follows:
- 37 23-15-977. (1) All candidates for judicial office as
- 38 defined in Section 23-15-975 of this subarticle shall file their
- 39 intent to be a candidate with the proper officials not later than
- 40 5:00 p.m. on the first Friday after the first Monday in May prior
- 41 to the general election for judicial office and shall pay to the
- 42 proper officials the following amounts:
- 43 (a) Candidates for Chief Justice of the Supreme Court,
- 44 Supreme Court judge and Court of Appeals, the sum of Two Hundred
- 45 Dollars (\$200.00).
- 46 (b) Candidates for circuit judge and chancellor, the
- 47 sum of One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00).
- 48 (c) Candidates for county judge and family court judge,
- 49 the sum of Fifteen Dollars (\$15.00).
- 50 (2) Candidates for judicial offices listed in paragraphs (a)
- 51 and (b) of subsection (1) of this section shall file their intent
- 52 to be a candidate with, and pay the proper assessment made
- 53 pursuant to subsection (1) of this section to, the State Board of
- 54 Election Commissioners.
- 55 (3) Candidates for judicial offices listed in paragraph (c)
- of subsection (1) of this section shall file their intent to be a
- 57 candidate with, and pay the proper assessment made pursuant to
- 58 subsection (1) of this section to, the circuit clerk of the proper
- 59 county. The circuit clerk shall notify the county commissioners
- 60 of election of all persons who have filed their intent to be a

```
61 candidate with, and paid the proper assessment to, such clerk.
```

- 62 Such notification shall occur within two (2) business days and
- 63 shall contain all necessary information.
- SECTION 4. Section 23-15-993, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
- 65 amended as follows:
- 66 23-15-993. For the purpose of all elections, each of the
- 67 nine (9) judgeships of the Supreme Court shall be considered a
- 68 separate office. The two (2) offices in each of the four (4)
- 69 Supreme Court districts shall be designated Position Number 1 and
- 70 Position Number 2, and in qualifying for office as a candidate for
- 71 any office of judge of the Supreme Court each candidate shall
- 72 state the position number of the office to which he aspires and
- 73 the regular election ballots shall so indicate. The Chief Justice
- 74 shall be elected statewide and the office shall be a term that
- 75 ends in January, 2013. In Supreme Court District Number 1:
- 76 Position Number 1 shall be that office for which the term ends in
- 77 January 2006; and Position Number 2 shall be that office for which
- 78 the term ends in January 2005. In District Number 2: Position
- 79 Number 1 shall be that office for which the term ends in January
- 80 2012; and Position Number 2 shall be that office for which the
- 81 term ends in January 2009. In District Number 3: Position Number
- 82 1 shall be that office for which the term ends in January 2009;
- 83 and Position Number 2 shall be that office for which the term ends
- 84 in January 2009. In District Number 4: Position 1 shall be that
- 85 office for which the term ends in January 2009; and Position 2
- 86 shall be that office for which their term ends in January 2005.
- 87 **SECTION 5.** The Attorney General of the State of Mississippi
- 88 shall submit this act, immediately upon approval by the Governor,
- 89 or upon approval by the Legislature subsequent to a veto, to the
- 90 Attorney General of the United States or to the United States
- 91 District Court for the District of Columbia in accordance with the
- 92 provisions of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended and
- 93 extended.

SECTION 6. Sections 5 through 10 of this act shall take effect and be in force from and after the date it is effectuated under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended and extended. Sections 1 through 4 shall take effect and be in force from and after the date it is effectuated under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended and extended, provided that House Concurrent Resolution No. \_\_\_\_\_, 2006 Regular Session, is ratified by the electorate.

94

95

96

97

98

99

100

101