2006 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Jackson (15th), Burton, Carmichael, White, Simmons

Senate Concurrent Resolution 588

(As Adopted by Senate and House)


     WHEREAS, the Starkville Academy "Volunteers" Football Team defeated rival Heritage Academy for the second time this season at Robinson-Hale Stadium on the campus of Mississippi College, December 2, 2005, to claim the Class 3A Division II State Championship by a score of 31-7; and

     WHEREAS, Starkville Academy, ranked No. 3 in the Mississippi Private School Association Poll, finished with a 10-2 overall record, scoring 379 points while giving up only 96 points for the year; and

     WHEREAS, it was the sixth state football crown for Starkville Academy, and the first since 1985.  The Volunteers Team won five Class 2A State titles in the 1970s and 1980s, but this was their first in 20 years; and

     WHEREAS, this is Head Coach Jack French's first year after returning to the Mississippi Private School Association (MPSA), and his fourth championship of his career; and

     WHEREAS, the roster of the Starkville Academy Volunteers Team is as follows:  Terry Silva, K/WR; Brad Moore, DB/HB; Jesse Daughtry, LB/RB; Katlan French, DB/HB; Matthew McKenzie, DB/WR; Brett Crabtree, DB/WR; Spencer Brunson, LB/RB; Stephen Felker, DB/QB; Jason Coasts, DB/QB; Trey White, DB/WR; Cole Andrews, LB/HB; Seth Carroll, LB/RB; Ross Rackley, LB/RB; Austin Allums, DB/WR; Ben Berry, LB/HB; William Brooks, LB/RB; Jeremy Beverly, LB/HB; Ben Oglesby, LB/OL; Kurt Pinnix, DL/OL; Sam Slaughter, DL/OL; Jace Whites, LB/OL; Hank Marsh, DL/OL; Coleman Crigler, LB/OL; Tyler Flowers, DL/OL; Miller McMinn, DL/OL; Webb Hamilton, DL/OL; Jonathan Coleman, DL/OL; Jacob Thomas, DL/OL; Corey Black, DL/OL; Jacob Breaux, DL/OL; Dylan White, DL/OL; Timmy Morgan, RB; Hunter Johnson, DB; Josh Daughtry, RB; Nick Klaskala, RB; Forrest Scruggs, LB; Brad Fulgham, OL; Jared Daniels, OL; Anthony Lane, DL; and Dustin Ballard, DL; and

     WHEREAS, the Volunteers MPSA All-Star Squad is Katlan French, Webb Hamilton, Seth Carroll and Jace Whites, who were named the North Squad's Defensive MVP.  For the first time in school history, Starkville Academy placed four members on the All-Star Team; and

     WHEREAS, the MPSA All-State First Team Squad is Webb Hamilton, DL; Spencer Brunson, DB; Katlan French, DB; and Second Team Terry Silva, K; Seth Carroll, LB; and Jace Whites, LB; and

     WHEREAS, the Managers for the Volunteers are as follows:  Devin Hughes, Will White, Kyle Henson, Jordan Graham, Hamilton McBride and Zack Thomas; and Mascot, Casey Rowe; and

     WHEREAS, the Cheerleaders for the Volunteers are as follows:  Jessica Fulgham, Ashley Crissey, Elizabeth Kemp, Mitzi Russell, Ashley Stewart, Kelly Miles, Kayla Montgomery, Whitney Whites, Brittany Brooks, Taylor Brown, Katie Rose Higginbotham, Molly Hopper, Kimberly Kirtland, Carley Mohan and Mary Malinda Valentine.  The 2005 Cheerleaders under the direction of Debi Valentine were named the MPSA State Champions; and

     WHEREAS, the Volunteers Coaching Staff is as follows:  Head Coach Jack French, Bart Jenkins, David Butler, Ronnie Ware, Ike Melton and Ronnie White; and

     WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the accomplishments of this championship team which has brought honor to their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Starkville Academy "Volunteers" Football Team and Head Coach Jack French for winning the Class 3A Division II State Championship and extend to them the best wishes of the Legislature in their future athletic and academic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Headmaster Sammy Henderson, Principal Bobby McClelland and Coach Jack French on behalf of the team, and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.