By: The Entire Membership

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 9

1 2 3 4	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE EMPLOYEES OF THE GOVERNOR'S OFFICE FOR THEIR ZEAL, DEVOTION AND DEDICATION RENDERED IN ASSISTING FAMILIES IN THE WAKE OF THE AFTERMATH CAUSED BY HURRICANE KATRINA.
5	WHEREAS, on August 29, 2005, the forces of nature unleashed
6	its fury on the Mississippi Coastal region in the form of a
7	spiraling storm, which became known and feared as Hurricane
8	Katrina; and
9	WHEREAS, in the aftermath of the devastation and turmoil
10	caused by Hurricane Katrina, our state's commander in chief, the
11	Honorable Governor Haley Reeves Barbour, seized the reins, leading
12	in the humanitarian effort of recovery and relief, along with
13	First Lady Marsha Barbour who contributed countless hours of hard
14	work, making personal contact with those most affected; and
15	WHEREAS, following the initiative of their leader, the
16	Governor's staff rolled up their sleeves and worked relentlessly,
17	tirelessly and selflessly to assist in the recovery, relief and
18	rebuilding efforts of the regions impacted by Hurricane Katrina;
19	and
20	WHEREAS, the unceasing outpouring of compassion and sympathy
21	of these individuals who left their families behind to aid those
22	in distress are testaments of the warmth, care and concerns
23	Mississippians share for one another; and
24	WHEREAS, being at ground zero, the mere presence of these
25	employees, some known and others unknown, eased the surmounting
26	tensions, soothed the broken hearted and restored hope to
27	thousands whose lives and memories of what used to be, were all
28	but washed away with the raging winds and waters; and
	H. C. R. No. 9 *HRO3/R162* N1/2 055E/HR03/R162 PAGE 1 (DJ\LH)

- 29 WHEREAS, these individuals, who stepped out of an oasis of
- 30 calm and normalcy into a sea of utter despair almost unfathomable
- 31 to behold, in efforts of rekindling the flame of life are: Marsha
- 32 Barbour, Ryan Annison, Wayland Adams, Nora Blake Albert, Mary
- 33 Alice Browning, Luis Bruno, Joe Buckner, Buddy Bynum, Linda Byrd,
- 34 Neely Carlton, Debbie Carney, Brenda Dean, Jason Dean, Joey
- 35 Denson, Rachael Ellis, Cora Gee, Laura Beth Hebbler, Paul Hurst,
- 36 Steve Janzen, Lee Jenkins, Andrew Ketchings, Dorothy Kuykendall,
- 37 Mary Lorenz, Parks McNabb, Daryl Neely, Joe Nosef, Jim Perry,
- 38 Charles Pittman, Norma Price, Darlene Ratliff, Ginny Roberts, John
- 39 Rounsaville, Ann Sisk, Pete Smith, Rebekah Staples, Kathryn
- 40 Stewart, Nicole Stofer, Adam Todd, Kay Troxler, Lillie Turnage,
- 41 Max Wells and Charlie Williams; and
- WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to commend and
- 43 recognize the efforts of the humble individuals who gave of their
- 44 time and their labor to extend the unsurpassable gesture of
- 45 brotherly love to their fellowman:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 47 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 48 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend the employees of the Governor's
- 49 Office for their zeal and devotion to assisting families in the
- 50 wake of Hurricane Katrina's aftermath.
- 51 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 52 furnished to the Governor's staff and to the members of the
- 53 Capitol Press Corps.

9