MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Ross, Kirby, Lee To: Rules (35th)

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 12

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE NORTHWEST 1 RANKIN HIGH SCHOOL "COUGARS" BASEBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE MHSAA 2 DIVISION 6 CLASS 5A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP. 3 4 WHEREAS, the Northwest Rankin High School "Cougars" Baseball Team set a school record for wins with a 36-3 season to win their 5 first Class 5A state title in the program's history; and 6 WHEREAS, Northwest Rankin swept Gulfport 6-3 and 5-4 in the 7 8 5A title series, and also finished atop The Clarion-Ledger's MHSAA Baseball Poll for the first time; and 9 WHEREAS, ranked 13th nationally by Collegiate Baseball, the 10 Cougars won 14 of their last 15 games; and 11 WHEREAS, the team finished as 5A runner-up in 2003 and 2004 12 13 and was 4A runner-up in 1997; and WHEREAS, Coach Jeff McClaskey said, "It's a relief without 14 15 question. We've been close so many times. We've been one of the top programs in the state year in and year out"; and 16 WHEREAS, "Dandy Dozen" Senior first baseman Tyler Moore 17 18 enjoyed a record-setting year for the Cougars, batting .468 with 18 doubles, he established school records for hits (59), home runs 19 20 (16), RBIs (65), slugging percentage (1.008), and total bases 21 (127); and Moore's RBI total is also a 5A record; and 22 WHEREAS, Senior right fielder Brett Adams (.444), Junior center fielder Kenny Tackett (.426, school-record 56 runs) and 23 Junior second baseman Clint Woods (.368) also helped carry the 24 offensive load; and 25 26 WHEREAS, Junior right-handers Todd McInnis and Jordan King 27 combined their pitching talents for 21 victories; and

S. R. No. 12 *SSO1/R45* 052E/SS01/R45 PAGE 1

N1/2

28 WHEREAS, the Cougars also excelled in tournament play as the 29 5A North State Champions, the District 4-5A Champions and the 2005 30 Battle of the Beach Champions in Gulfshores, Alabama; and 31 WHEREAS, several individual players received recognition: 32 Clint Woods, All-District; Kenny Tackett, All-District and 5A

All-State; Tyler Moore, All-District, 5A Player of the Year, The Clarion-Ledger's Player of the Year, All-State, All-Star and set five school records; Brett Adams, All-District and 5A All-State; Taylor Cochran, All-District; Todd McInnis, All-District and 5A All-State; and Jordan King, All-District; and

38 WHEREAS, Coach McClaskey, ably assisted by Assistant Coaches 39 Ben Stein, Chad Walberg, Thad Bennett and Keith McGee, was named 40 District 4-5A Coach of the Year, All-Metro Coach of the Year and 41 The Clarion-Ledger's Coach of the Year; and

42 WHEREAS, every team member contributed to the Cougars' success, including Ryan McInnis, Tim Terry, Tyler Walker, Chase 43 Wolverton, Hunter Ainsworth, Daniel Cowart, Brett Jeter, Wesley 44 Johnson, Josh Brumfield, Lance Caballero, Anthony Doss, Rob 45 McCain, Harrison Mercer, Geoffrey Sinning, Nick Stewart, Justin 46 47 Williams, Ben Wylie, Todd Barnthouse, C.J. Britt, Dylan Bryan, 48 Austin Cole, Seth Hood, Adam Johns, Stephen Jury, Jason King, Ryan 49 Nance, Scotty Owens, Zach Polzin, Robby Robinson, Jacob Sims and 50 Jake Wise; and

51 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the 52 Cougars' outstanding achievement which has brought honor to their 53 school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

54 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 55 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the 56 Northwest Rankin "Cougars" Baseball Team for winning the MHSAA 57 Division 6 Class 5A State Championship, and extend to this team 58 and Coach Jeff McClaskey the best wishes of the Senate for success 59 in their future athletic and academic endeavors.

S. R. No. 12 *SSO1/R45* 052E/SS01/R45 PAGE 2 60 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 61 Coach McClaskey and the Principal of Northwest Rankin High School 62 and be made available to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.