MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Ross, Kirby, Frazier, Michel, White To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 9

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE JACKSON 1 PREPARATORY SCHOOL "PATRIOTS" VARSITY BASEBALL TEAM FOR WINNING 2 3 THE MPSA CLASS 3A DIVISION I STATE CHAMPIONSHIP FOR THE THIRD 4 CONSECUTIVE YEAR. 5 WHEREAS, the Jackson Preparatory School "Patriots" Varsity Baseball Team downed Parklane 9-2 on Thursday, May 12, 2005, to 6 win the Academy Class 3A, Division I State Championship; and 7 WHEREAS, the victory in "do-or-die" game 3 at Patriot Field 8 9 included Tait Hendrix's two-out RBI single in the bottom of the 10 first inning before an estimated crowd of 800; and WHEREAS, the Patriots scored four runs in the bottom of the 11 second, three of which were unearned, when Brad McCay and Bret 12 Benson had RBI hits and Swayze Waters delivered a sacrifice fly; 13 14 and WHEREAS, Sophomore pitcher Dudley Hutchinson started the game 15 with Kyle Moore coming in to pitch in the fourth; Moore, a 16 17 senior, tossed four shutout innings in his final appearance in a 18 Prep uniform; and 19 WHEREAS, the fifth-ranked Patriots (25-9) finished the season by winning an unprecedented third straight MPSA championship for 20 21 Prep, their ninth outright MPSA title since 1974; and WHEREAS, Prep Coach Trey Bayliss said, "It feels incredible. 22 23 I knew these boys had it in them, but I knew it was going to be an 24 uphill climb. We had something to prove"; and WHEREAS, the team includes All-Star players Kyle Moore, Tait 25 26 Hendrix and Swayze Waters; and WHEREAS, the Patriots' Team Captains were Brett Benson and 27 Tait Hendrix; and 28 *SS01/R44* S. R. No. 9 N1/2052E/SS01/R44

```
PAGE 1
```

29 WHEREAS, Swayze Waters was named Best Offensive Player, 30 Wallace McLaurin was named Best Defensive Player, and Kyle Moore 31 was named Most Valuable Player; and

32 WHEREAS, every team member contributed to the Patriot 33 success, including Ryan Selman, Price Davis, Grant Robinson, 34 Richard Yerger, Daniel Herrington, Dudley Hutchinson, Daniel Luter, Brad McCay, Jud Judkins, David Steele, Ty Owen, Christian 35 Barnes, Nick Schneeberger, Zach Warden, Rob Carpenter, Doug 36 Schneider, Connor Burgess, Arthur Davis, Ben Molpus, Rob Gathings, 37 38 Mark McVey, and Brantley Davidson; and

39 WHEREAS, the team had the benefit of excellent leadership and inspiration under Head Coach Trey Bayliss with the able support of 40 Assistant Coaches Luis Campos and Joey Hydrick; and 41

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the 42 outstanding achievement of this team, which has brought honor to 43 their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi: 44 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 45 46 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Jackson Preparatory School "Patriots" Varsity Baseball Team for 47 48 winning the MPSA Class 3A State Championship, and extend to this team and Coach Trey Bayliss the best wishes of the Senate for 49 50 success in their future athletic and academic endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 51 Coach Bayliss and the Headmaster of Jackson Preparatory School and 52 53 be made available to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.