26

27

28

Hendrix and Swayze Waters; and

S. R. No. 9 *SSO1/R44*

Tait Hendrix; and

052E/SS01/R44

PAGE 1

By: Senator(s) Ross, Kirby

To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 9

1 2 3 4	A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE JACKSON PREPARATORY SCHOOL "PATRIOTS" VARSITY BASEBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE MPSA CLASS 3A DIVISION I STATE CHAMPIONSHIP FOR THE THIRD CONSECUTIVE YEAR.
5	WHEREAS, the Jackson Preparatory School "Patriots" Varsity
6	Baseball Team downed Parklane 9-2 on Thursday, May 12, 2005, to
7	win the Academy Class 3A, Division I State Championship; and
8	WHEREAS, the victory in "do-or-die" game 3 at Patriot Field
9	included Tait Hendrix's two-out RBI single in the bottom of the
10	first inning before an estimated crowd of 800; and
11	WHEREAS, the Patriots scored four runs in the bottom of the
12	second, three of which were unearned, when Brad McCay and Bret
13	Benson had RBI hits and Swayze Waters delivered a sacrifice fly;
14	and
15	WHEREAS, Sophomore pitcher Dudley Hutchinson started the game
16	with Kyle Moore coming in to pitch in the fourth; Moore, a
17	senior, tossed four shutout innings in his final appearance in a
18	Prep uniform; and
19	WHEREAS, the fifth-ranked Patriots (25-9) finished the season
20	by winning an unprecedented third straight MPSA championship for
21	Prep, their ninth outright MPSA title since 1974; and
22	WHEREAS, Prep Coach Trey Bayliss said, "It feels incredible.
23	I knew these boys had it in them, but I knew it was going to be an
24	uphill climb. We had something to prove"; and
25	WHEREAS, the team includes All-Star players Kyle Moore, Tait

WHEREAS, the Patriots' Team Captains were Brett Benson and

N1/2

29	WHEREAS, Swayze Waters was named Best Offensive Player,
30	Wallace McLaurin was named Best Defensive Player, and Kyle Moore
31	was named Most Valuable Player; and
32	WHEREAS, every team member contributed to the Patriot
33	success, including Ryan Selman, Price Davis, Grant Robinson,
34	Richard Yerger, Daniel Herrington, Dudley Hutchinson, Daniel
35	Luter, Brad McCay, Jud Judkins, David Steele, Ty Owen, Christian
36	Barnes, Nick Schneeberger, Zach Warden, Rob Carpenter, Doug
37	Schneider, Connor Burgess, Arthur Davis, Ben Molpus, Rob Gathings,
38	Mark McVey, and Brantley Davidson; and
39	WHEREAS, the team had the benefit of excellent leadership and
40	inspiration under Head Coach Trey Bayliss with the able support of
41	Assistant Coaches Luis Campos and Joey Hydrick; and
42	WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the
43	outstanding achievement of this team, which has brought honor to
44	their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:
45	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
46	MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the
47	Jackson Preparatory School "Patriots" Varsity Baseball Team for
48	winning the MPSA Class 3A State Championship, and extend to this
49	team and Coach Trey Bayliss the best wishes of the Senate for
50	success in their future athletic and academic endeavors.
51	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
52	Coach Bayliss and the Headmaster of Jackson Preparatory School and

be made available to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.

53