MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Michel, Chaney, Burton, Davis, Lee (35th), Tollison, Williamson, Flowers, Mettetal, Pickering, Ross, King, Walley, Walls, Wilemon, Kirby

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 512

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE OLE 2 MISS "REBELS" BASEBALL TEAM AND COACH MIKE BIANCO FOR WINNING THE 3 2005 SOUTHEASTERN CONFERENCE (SEC) WESTERN DIVISION CHAMPIONSHIP 4 AND FOR ATTAINING THE BEST OVERALL RECORD IN THE SEC.

5 WHEREAS, Freshman Shortstop Zack Cozart hit two home runs and 6 had four RBIs as No. 17. Ole Miss defeated No. 18 Arkansas 9-1 to 7 complete a three-game sweep of the Southeastern Conference series 8 on Sunday, May 22, 2005, in front of 7,270 fans at Baum Stadium in 9 Fayetteville, Arkansas; and

10 WHEREAS, the victory secured Ole Miss a piece of its first 11 SEC Western Division title since 1982, as the Rebels finished the 12 2005 season tied with LSU for first place in the SEC Western 13 Division with 18-12 conference marks; and

14 WHEREAS, Ole Miss also improved to 40-16 overall, best in the 15 SEC and tying the school record for wins in a season set by the 16 1995 team that finished 40-22. The Rebels' 18 SEC wins also tied 17 the school record set last year; and

18 WHEREAS, the 2005 Southeastern Conference regular season 19 ended full of tightly packed standings and weekends capable of 20 swinging teams from first to last. The SEC tournament seeds hung 21 in the balance and were only solidified when Ole Miss recorded the 22 final out in its sweep of Arkansas; and

23 WHEREAS, Ole Miss entered the 2005 SEC Tournament as the No. 24 4 seed and played No. 5 seed Alabama at Hoover Metropolitan 25 Stadium in Hoover, Alabama; and

26 WHEREAS, Ole Miss Junior first baseman/left-handed pitcher 27 Stephen Head and Junior outfielder Brian Pettway were two of four 28 finalists for the 2005 Cellular South Ferriss Trophy, which is S. C. R. No. 512 *SS02/R42* N1/2 052E/SS02/R42 PAGE 1 awarded annually to Mississippi's top college baseball player, and the voters picked Brian Pettway on May 23, 2005; and

31 WHEREAS, the 2005 roster is as follows: Zack Cozart, Ryne 32 Porter, Miles Franklin, Peyton Farr, Cooper Osteen, Chris Coghlan, 33 Justin Brashear, Justin Henry, Barry Gunther, Mark Wright, John 34 Morgan Mims, Mark Holliman, Chris Moffett, C.J. Ketchum, JoJo 35 Tann, Stephen Head, Alex Presley, Tommy Baumgardner, Logan Power, Matt Maloney, Jeremy Catoire, Anthony Cupps, Vance Avalon, Cody 36 Overbeck, Walker Sudduth, Travis Bogue, Alex Kliman, Stoney Stone, 37 Brian Pettway, Brett Bukvich, Brooks Villar, Luke Barthel, 38 39 Michael Wakefield, Will Kline, Drew Maddox, Bradley Lum, Eric Fowler, Jon-Jon Hancock and Justin Cryer. The coaching/support 40 staff is as follows: Head Coach Mike Bianco and Assistant Coaches 41 Dan McDonnell, Stuart Lake and Kyle Bunn; and 42

43 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the total 44 team effort of this group of student athletes who have brought 45 honor to their university, their community and to the State of 46 Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
we do hereby commend and congratulate the Ole Miss "Rebels"
Baseball Team and Coach Mike Bianco for winning the 2005
Southeastern Conference (SEC) Western Division Championship and
for attaining the best overall record in the SEC.
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to

54 the Ole Miss Baseball Team and be made available to the Capitol 55 Press Corps.