House Amendments to Senate Bill No. 2339

TO THE SECRETARY OF THE SENATE:

THIS IS TO INFORM YOU THAT THE HOUSE HAS ADOPTED THE AMENDMENTS SET OUT BELOW:

AMENDMENT NO. 2

- 1 **AMEND** by striking lines 56 through 59 in their entirety and
- 2 inserting in lieu thereof the following:
- 3 "(2) For purposes of appointment and election, the four (4)
- 4 chancellorships shall be separate and distinct and denominated for
- 5 purposes of appointment and election only as "Place One," "Place
- 6 Two, " "Place Three" and "Place Four." The chancellor to fill
- 7 Place One shall be a resident of Alcorn, Prentiss or Tishomingo
- 8 County. The chancellor to fill Place Two shall be a resident of
- 9 Itawamba, Lee, Monroe, Pontotoc or Union County. The chancellors
- 10 to fill Place Three and Place Four shall be residents of Alcorn,
- 11 Itawamba, Lee, Monroe, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Tishomingo or Union
- 12 Counties. Election of the four (4) offices of chancellor shall be
- 13 by election to be held in every county within the First Chancery
- 14 Court District of Mississippi."
- 15 AMEND FURTHER by striking lines 82 through 92 in their
- 16 entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
- 17 "9-5-25. There shall be three (3) chancellors for the
- 18 Seventh Chancery Court District. One (1) chancellor shall be
- 19 elected from Subdistrict 7-1 and two (2) chancellors shall be
- 20 elected from Subdistrict 7-2. For purposes of appointment and
- 21 election, the two (2) chancellorships for Subdistrict 7-2 shall be
- 22 separate and distinct and denominated for purposes of appointment
- 23 and election only as "Place One" and "Place Two."
- 24 AMEND FURTHER by striking lines 148 through 153 in their
- 25 entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
- 26 "9-7-14. (1) There shall be three (3) circuit judges for
- 27 the Third Circuit Court District.

```
28 (2) For purposes of appointment and election, the three (3)
```

- 29 judgeships shall be separate and distinct and denominated for
- 30 purposes of appointment and election only as "Place One," "Place
- 31 Two" and "Place Three." The judge for "Place Three" shall be a
- 32 resident of Benton, Marshall or Tippah County."
- 33 AMEND FURTHER by striking lines 140 through 145 in their
- 34 entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
- 35 "9-7-7. (1) There shall be four (4) judges for the First
- 36 Circuit Court District.
- 37 (2) For purposes of appointment and election, the four (4)
- 38 judgeships shall be separate and distinct and denominated for
- 39 purposes of appointment and election only as "Place One," "Place
- 40 Two, " "Place Three" and "Place Four. " The judge to fill Place One
- 41 shall be a resident of Alcorn, Prentiss or Tishomingo County. The
- 42 judge to fill Place Two shall be a resident of Itawamba, Lee,
- 43 Monroe or Pontotoc County. The judges to fill Place Three and
- 44 Place Four shall be residents of Alcorn, Itawamba, Lee, Monroe,
- 45 Pontotoc, Prentiss or Tishomingo Counties. Election of the four
- 46 (4) offices of judge shall be by election to be held in every
- 47 county within the First Circuit Court District of Mississippi."
- 48 AMEND FURTHER by striking lines 201 through 209 in their
- 49 entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
- 50 "9-7-46. (1) There shall be $\underline{\text{four } (4)}$ circuit judges for the
- 51 Seventeenth Circuit Court District.
- 52 (2) For the purpose of appointment and election, the four
- 53 (4) judgeships shall be separate and distinct, and two (2) judges
- 54 shall be elected from Subdistrict 17-1 and two (2) judges shall be
- 55 elected from Subdistrict 17-2. For purposes of appointment and
- 56 election, the two (2) judgeships in Subdistrict 17-1 shall be
- 57 separate and distinct and denominated for purposes of appointment
- 58 and election only as "Place One" and "Place Two." For purposes of
- 59 appointment and election, the two (2) judgeships in Subdistrict

- 60 17-2 shall be separate and distinct and denominated for purposes
- of election and appointment as "Place One" and "Place Two."
- 62 AMEND FURTHER by striking lines 193 through 198 in their
- 63 entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
- "9-7-44. There shall be three (3) judges for the Sixteenth
- 65 Circuit Court District."
- 66 AMEND FURTHER by striking lines 212 through 217 in their
- 67 entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
- 68 "9-7-54. (1) The Twentieth Circuit Court District shall be
- 69 divided into two (2) subdistricts. Subdistrict 20-1 shall be
- 70 Madison County and Subdistrict 20-2 shall be Rankin County.
- 71 (2) There shall be four (4) judges for the Twentieth Circuit
- 72 Court District. Two (2) judges shall be elected from each
- 73 subdistrict. For purposes of appointment and election, the two
- 74 (2) judgeships in Subdistrict 20-2 shall be separate and distinct
- 75 and denominated for purposes of appointment and election only as
- 76 "Place One" and "Place Two."
- 77 (3) Subdistrict 20-1 shall be divided into two (2) divisions
- 78 as follows:
- 79 (a) (i) Division 1 shall consist of the following
- 80 precincts: Ratliff Ferry, Canton Precinct 2, Canton Precinct 3,
- 81 Canton Precinct 7, Smith School, Magnolia Heights, Flora,
- 82 <u>Virlilia, Canton Precinct 5, Liberty, New Industrial Park, Madison</u>
- 83 County Baptist Family Life Center, Cameron, Couparle, Camden,
- 84 Sharon, Canton Precinct 1, Canton Precinct 4, Luther Branson
- 85 School and Bible Church Precincts.
- 86 (ii) Division 1 shall consist of the following
- 87 partial precincts: Madisonville and Bear Creek Precincts. The
- 88 Split Precinct Block List developed in conjunction with Chapter
- 89 761, Laws of 2002, that details portions of partial or split
- 90 precincts that are contained within a subdistrict by census tract
- 91 and block number and was utilized in developing the partial or

- 92 split precincts of this subdistrict is hereby incorporated and
- 93 shall be construed to be an integral part of this section.
- 94 (b) (i) Division 2 shall consist of the following
- 95 precincts: Trace Harbor, Main Harbor, Victory Baptist Church,
- 96 Madison 1, Madison 2, Madison 3, Ridgeland 3, Ridgeland 4,
- 97 Ridgeland First Methodist Church, Gluckstadt, Lorman-Cavalier,
- 98 Ridgeland 1, Tougaloo, Cobblestone Church of God, Highland Colony
- 99 Baptist Church and Whisper Lake Precincts.
- 100 (ii) Division 2 shall consist of that portion of
- 101 the following partial precincts not included in Subdistrict 23-1:
- 102 Madisonville and Bear Creek Precincts."

HR03\SB2339A.4J

AMENDMENT NO. 4

- 1 AMEND on lines 185 and 187 by changing "two (2)" to "three
- 2 (3)"
- 3 **AMEND FURTHER** on line 189 by inserting a comma after "One"
- 4 and deleting "and"
- 5 **AMEND FURTHER** on line 190 after the word "Two" by inserting
- 6 "and "Place Three""

HR03\SB2339A.3J

Don Richardson Clerk of the House of Representatives