MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Little

To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 52

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE SOLDIERS OF THE 850TH 1 TRANSPORTATION COMPANY IN RECOGNITION OF THEIR PERSONAL 2 SACRIFICES, OUTSTANDING DEDICATION, COURAGE, VALOR AND PATRIOTISM 3 SHOWN TO THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA IN EFFECTIVELY ACCOMPLISHING 4 THEIR WARTIME MISSION. 5 6 WHEREAS, the Senate of the State of Mississippi wishes to 7 commend the soldiers of the 850th Transportation Company Army Reserve Unit, recognizing their personal sacrifices, time spent 8 9 away from home, courage in the face of fire and uncertainty, as they embarked upon war against terrorism that is being waged by 10 the United States both at home and overseas; and 11 WHEREAS, Mississippi's citizens have always been more than 12 13 willing to serve their country during times of conflict across the 14 world, and many have made the ultimate sacrifice by giving their lives in times of war; and 15 16 WHEREAS, the United States Military Reservists have embarked upon both missions to secure and preserve peace and to protect the 17 lives and interests of all Americans, thus exhibiting the high 18 19 caliber and readiness of our nation's and state's troops; and WHEREAS, these "citizen soldiers" have undergone extensive 20 21 training through their respective reserve units while maintaining 22 a living and raising families of their own; and WHEREAS, in recognition of their valor and teamwork, and 23 24 loyalty to their fellow soldiers, the command, the United States Army and the United States of America, we esteemingly honor: 25 Captains, Peter T. Clinton, Hap E. McConnell and Tonda Y. 26 27 Williams; Chief Warrant Officer Michael G. Tomes; Master Sergeants, Carlester Hicks and Robert L. Irons; Sergeants First 28

S. R. No. 52 *SS26/R1430* 05/SS26/R1430 PAGE 1

N1/2

Class, Clinton F. Booker, Ronald Brooks, Percy L. Cooks, Bruce M. 29 30 Faust, Ernesto Febo, Willie E. Fountaine, Tommie Hilton, John T. 31 Horn, Daniel L. Hunt, Calvin D. Moore, Tony A. Roach, Andrew M. 32 Robinson and Jonathan P. Taber; Staff Sergeants, Dennis Austin, 33 Stanley R. Autry, Mario M. Bolton, Willie J. Boyd, David Brownlee, 34 William A. Calvin, Theodore R. Campbell, Thomas N. Gilmore, 35 Laquitta R. Green, John E. Harris, Michael L. Hawkins, Dennis L. Jackson, Tamra J. Johnson, Laboyd Keyes, Darlean Lake, Jonathan T. 36 Roberts, Stephen T. Robinson, Sylvester Simon, Sam T. Smiley, Tara 37 M. Watson and David Whaley; Sergeants, Orlanda L. Bell, Lashon C. 38 39 Brown, Candra M. Buck, Marco V. Burgos, Marcus D. Catching, Sonny O. Chambers, Felicia A. Davis, Tamara D. Finchis, Rodney D. 40 41 Fondren, Marlon T. Gooch, Victor H. Green, Amanda L. Guenthner, David W. Herron, Michael A. Iriarte, Kimberly N. Island, Catrina 42 L. Jackson, Lashannon R. James, Douglas A. Lancelot, David M. 43 McDaniel, John A. McDonald, Veronica F. Mond, Charles E. Moore, 44 45 Anthony J. Pekala, Myla M. Perry, Anthony Pitts, Richard L. Quick, 46 Christopher A. Robb, Christopher N. Robinson, Michael W. Robinson, Hope M. Ross, Micah P. Sanford, Luis A. Santiago, Mervin Thurman, 47 48 Renita C. Tigner, Joshua H. Tillman, Yvonne Tillmon, Elizabeth A. West and Cedric J. White; Specialists, Michael J. Adams, Billy R. 49 50 Artis, Oluseun T. Awobusuyi, Courtney Bell, Ashton D. Coppage, Kenyate N. Criss, Markquetta Y. Curb, Jonathan D. Davis, Ketrick 51 L. Douglas, Cassandra V. Fair, Niren A. Gipson, Kimberly D. 52 53 Harrell, Maurice M. Harvey, Kenji D. Hayes, Christopher J. Herny, Gary A. Hunter, Edward H. Jamerson, Demetrice D. Jenkins, Lemarcus 54 55 D. Johnson, Byron E. Joseph, Jarvis D. Kelly, Revell Kimber, 56 Charles Liddell, Anthony D. Lofton, Patrick A. Martin, Jamaika L. 57 McAdams, Shonari O. McCrary, Michael T. Padgett, Yancey T. Pollard, Christopher R. Richardson, Derrick Shorter, Jason R. 58 Sharp, Brandon J. Shindler, David B. Shiver, Lashun T. Sims, 59 60 Derrick D. Thigpen, Christopher D. Townsend, Jordan M. Whitaker, Abram D. Williams and Victor W. Williams; Privates First Class, 61 *SS26/R1430* 52 S. R. No. 05/SS26/R1430 PAGE 2

Franklin E. Ball, Gebriel C. Dearman, Kywanis Hargrow, Jessica A. 62 63 Jones, Cynthis N. Lloyd, Reggie L. Moore, Jeremy B. Rose, Dorian 64 L. Troope and Earl Warren; and Private Dwayne L. Brakebill; and 65 WHEREAS, since September 11, 2001, soldiers of the 850th 66 Transportation Company, along with their comrades of the United 67 States Army, United States Navy, United States Air Force and the Army and Air National Guard of Mississippi and surrounding states, 68 have been called to active service in defense of our nation's 69 70 freedom, and a renewed commitment to establish a free and 71 self-sustaining democratic government out of the tumultuous ruins 72 of tyranny and terror; and

73 WHEREAS, with some soldiers veteran to warfare as experienced 74 in Desert Storm, the 850th was activated in November 2003 and went 75 to Fort Stewart, Georgia, for training before being deployed to 76 Iraq in early 2004; and

WHEREAS, as a transportation unit, soldiers of the 850th traveled up and down all of the highways where bombs had been detonated, delivering food, water, medical supplies and ammunition; and

81 WHEREAS, President George W. Bush, Commander in Chief of the 82 United States Military and the United States Army Reserve Command, 83 whose leadership and dedication is known throughout the military 84 of the United States, continues to guide and command units of the 85 Army Reservists in mobilizations and deployments and security at 86 critical sites on foreign and domestic soils; and

87 WHEREAS, the Senate recognizes and commends the diligence of 88 the soldiers of the 850th Transportation Company, who have placed 89 themselves directly in harms way, for their devotion to this state 90 and nation to secure and insure peace and to preserve and protect 91 freedom for all:

92 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 93 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend the 850th Transportation 94 Company on its outstanding leadership, selfless dedication and S. R. No. 52 *SS26/R1430* 05/SS26/R1430 PAGE 3 95 patriotism exemplified through the acts of the soldiers and

96 officers in effectively accomplishing their wartime mission.

97 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 98 the commanding officers of the 850th Transportation Company and to 99 the members of the Capitol Press Corps.