By: Senator(s) Lee (47th), Albritton, Morgan, Cuevas, King

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 519

2 PEARL RIVER COMMUNITY COLLEGE FOOTBALL TEAM AND COACH OF THE YEAR	1	A CONCU	JRRENT RESC	OLUTION (COMMENDING	AND	CONG	RATUL	ITA	JG TF	ΙE
	2	PEARL RIVER	COMMUNITY	COLLEGE	FOOTBALL	TEAM	AND	COACH	OF	THE	YEAR

- 3 TIM HATTEN FOR THE "WILDCATS" 2004 NJCAA NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP.
- 4 WHEREAS, Pearl River Community College is now the undisputed
- 5 NJCAA National Football Champion after its convincing 35-14
- 6 victory over the defending champion Butler County (Kansas)
- 7 Grizzlies in the Dalton Defenders Bowl; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the Wildcats, who repeated as state champions with a
- 9 24-13 win over Hinds Community College in Poplarville,
- 10 Mississippi, left little doubt about the superiority of the MACJC
- 11 over Kansas' league in 2004; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Pearl River, which won its only other national title
- in 1961 under legendary Coach Dobie Holden, extended its winning
- 14 stretch to 19 games; and
- WHEREAS, Coach Tim Hatten has been named Coach of the Year by
- 16 the American Community College Football Coaches Association, and
- 17 Wildcats Quarterback Jimmy Oliver has been honored as the NJCAA's
- 18 offensive player of the year. Coach Hatten has an overall record
- 19 of 29-4, with two MACJC titles in three years in Poplarville; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the only time Pearl River Community College won a
- 21 national championship in football, John F. Kennedy was in his
- 22 first year as President. Forty-three years have passed since the
- 23 1961 Wildcats breezed through their schedule to a 10-0 record,
- 24 winning a state championship and finishing the year as the No. 1
- 25 team in the country, T.D. "Dobie" Holden was the Head Coach at
- 26 that time. A picture of that team hangs in the Mississippi Sports
- 27 Hall of Fame and Museum in Jackson. Pearl River Community College

```
was called Pearl River Junior College back then. The team played
its home games on a field in the middle of the campus, today used
```

- 30 mostly for band practice and intramural sports. The concrete
- 31 bleachers still stand as a reminder of past glory; and
- 32 WHEREAS, Pearl River Community College's athletic tradition
- 33 spans most of this century and includes some of the prominent and
- 34 memorable sports figures, athletes and coaches. During the early
- 35 years, Pearl River was the first, in fact the only, junior college
- 36 to compete in athletics. In over 77 years of football, the
- 37 Wildcats have won or tied nearly 70% of the games they have
- 38 played. PRCC football teams have scored over 12,300 points, while
- 39 allowing only 6,950, and "The River" has recorded 13 undefeated
- 40 regular seasons and a record 14 state championships; and
- 41 WHEREAS, the 2004 championship roster is as follows: Larry
- 42 Brackins, Josh Barnes, Tim Kulikowski, Glentrelle Ware, Jacob
- 43 Garber, Jimmy Oliver, Nick Golden, Brian Graham, Gene Coleman,
- 44 Charles Brown, Sam Thomas, Brandon Fountain, Levance Richmond,
- 45 Kyle Sellers, Julian McGowan, Shalamar Walker, Sandy Ray Collins,
- 46 Gabe Fairman, Mike McClendon, George Leverette, Artez McLaughlin,
- 47 Bernard Smith, Charles Hawkins, Marcus Thomas, Ervin Jackson,
- 48 Chris St. John, Lawrence Atkinson, Chris Lowery, Perry Guinn,
- 49 Kenneth McBeath, Edjuan Williamson, Kenny Lawler, Michael Loftin,
- 50 Johnny Berry, Kevin Oatis, Alex Davis, Adam Purvis, Tanner
- 51 Graves, Matt Lott, Brad Steube, Ryan Sefton, Scotty Dunn, Steven
- 52 Pahlman, Reggie Keyes, Wyatt Tatum, Vince Strickland, James
- 53 Hollingsworth, Doug Dubuisson, Ladean Byrd, Chris Milner, James
- 54 Carter, Frank Harry, Ben McGilton and Marcus Crosby; and
- 55 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the
- 56 singular achievement of these student athletes who have brought
- 57 honor to their college, their community and to the State of
- 58 Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 60 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That

- 61 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Pearl River Community
- 62 College "Wildcats" football team and Coach of the Year Tim Hatten
- 63 for winning the undisputed 2004 National Junior College Athletic
- 64 Association National Championship, and extend to the team the best
- 65 wishes of the Legislature for future athletic and academic
- 66 success.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 68 the 2004 Wildcats Football Team and college President, Dr. William
- 69 Lewis, and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.