To: Finance

SENATE BILL NO. 2784

1 2 3 4 5	AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 63-17-57, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, TO PROVIDE THAT FROM AND AFTER JULY 1, 2005, APPOINTMENTS TO THE MISSISSIPPI MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION SHALL BE MADE FROM THE FOUR MISSISSIPPI CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS ON A PHASED-IN BASIS; AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES.
6	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI:
7	SECTION 1. Section 63-17-57, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
8	amended as follows:
9	63-17-57. There is hereby created the Mississippi Motor
10	Vehicle Commission to be composed of eight (8) members, one (1) of
11	whom shall be appointed by the Attorney General from the state at
12	large for a term of four (4) years and one (1) of whom shall be
13	appointed by the Secretary of State from the state at large for a
14	term of four (4) years, and six (6) licensees who shall be
15	appointed by the Governor, one (1) from the state at large and one
16	(1) from each of the five (5) congressional districts of this
17	state for terms of the following duration: the term of the member
18	from the state at large shall expire at the time the incumbent
19	Governor's term expires, the term of the member appointed from the
20	First Congressional District shall expire on June 30, 1973, the
21	term of the member appointed from the Second Congressional
22	District shall expire on June 30, 1974, the term of the member
23	appointed from the Third Congressional District shall expire on
24	June 30, 1976, the term of the member from the Fourth
25	Congressional District shall expire on June 30, 1977, and the term
26	of the member appointed from the Fifth Congressional District
27	shall expire on June 30, 1978. Each member shall serve until his

successor is appointed and qualified. At the expiration of the

28

```
term of the member initially appointed by the Attorney General
29
30
    each successor member shall be appointed for a term of four (4)
    years by the incumbent Attorney General, and at the expiration of
31
32
    the term of the member appointed by the Secretary of State each
33
    successor member shall be appointed for a term of four (4) years
34
    by the incumbent Secretary. At the expiration of a term for which
    each of the initial appointments of the Governor is made, each
35
    successor member shall be appointed for a term of seven (7) years
36
    except that the term of the member appointed from the state at
37
    large shall be coterminous with that of the Governor making the
38
39
                  The members of the commission as constituted on July
    appointment.
    1, 2005, who are appointed by the Governor and whose terms have
40
41
    not expired shall serve the balance of their terms, after which
    time the gubernatorial appointments shall be made as follows: The
42
    Governor shall appoint one (1) member of the commission from each
43
    of the four (4) Mississippi congressional districts as they
44
    currently exist, and two (2) from the state at large, and the
45
46
    Governor shall make appointments from the congressional district
    having the smallest number of commission members until the
47
48
    membership includes one (1) from each congressional district as
49
    required.
50
         One of the members appointed from the state at large by the
    Governor shall serve as chairman of the commission and one (1) of
51
    the other members appointed by the Governor shall be designated by
52
53
    him to serve as vice chairman. In the absence of the chairman at
    any meeting of the commission the vice chairman shall preside and
54
55
    perform the duties of the chairman.
         In the event of a vacancy created by the death, resignation
56
57
    or removal of any member of the commission the vacancy shall be
58
    filled by appointment of the Governor, Attorney General or the
    Secretary of State, as the case may be, for the unexpired portion
59
60
    of the term. All appointments hereunder shall be made with the
```

61

advice and consent of the Senate.

62 **SECTION 2.** This act shall take effect and be in force from

63 and after July 1, 2005.