By: Representative Blackmon

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 32

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE ST. ANDREWS 1 2 EPISCOPAL SCHOOL SAINTS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING SEASON 3 OF PLAY FOR 2004 AND WINNING THE DISTRICT VI CLASS 2A 4 CHAMPIONSHIP. 5 WHEREAS, the St. Andrews Episcopal School Saints Football Team finished the 2004 season with an impressive, undefeated 6 7 record of 10-0 in regular season play, winning the District VI 8 Class 2A Championship; and 9 WHEREAS, the 2004 Saints team made their mark in the school's record book by tying the school's record for the most wins and 10 clenching the team's first undefeated regular season since 1993; 11

12 and

WHEREAS, the Saints climaxed their season of play with an 14 11-game winning streak, finishing the season with an 11-1 record, 15 before losing in the second round of the state playoffs; and

16 WHEREAS, led by five seniors, Brent Smith, Brian Gladney, 17 Alan Landrum, David Drake and Japanese exchange student, Taka Naragino, many individual honors have been bestowed upon various 18 19 team members in recognition of their fine, dedicated and superior play and their hard work this season, including: the naming of 20 21 Brent Smith to The Clarion-Ledger All-Metro First Team; the selection of Conway Craig as second ranked passer in Class 2A; the 22 23 naming of Martin Edwards as lead kicker in Class 2A and the selection of standout sophomore running back Bradford Blackmon as 24 Most Valuable Player for District VI Class 2A and named to the 25 26 Mississippi Association of Coaches All-State Second Team; and WHEREAS, during his two years of varsity play at St. Andrews, 27 Bradford Blackmon has scored 45 touchdowns, completed 349 rushes, 28 *HR03/R2030* H. R. No. 32 N1/2 05/HR03/R2030 PAGE 1 (DJ\LH)

compiled 2,560 yards, ranked fourth in rushing in the State Class 29 30 2A division, set a school record with 222 points in 12 games, 31 averaging 18.5 points per game and scored the second most points of any player in the state in all classifications; and 32

WHEREAS, the Saints have been superbly coached and inspired 33 34 by Head Coach David Bradberry and Assistant Coaches Dan Roach, Joe 35 Ray and Gerald McCall, who have broadened the team's knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and 36

WHEREAS, Coach Bradberry, whose overall coaching record 37 stands at 149-57, has compiled an 18-5 record at St. Andrews since 38 39 becoming head coach in 2003; and

WHEREAS, in addition to excelling on the field, the Saints 40 41 also display superior prowess in the classroom to achieve academic excellence with 19 honor roll students; and 42

WHEREAS, a self-disciplined and self-motivated team, the 43 Saints have been supported in their athletic endeavors and can 44 45 attribute much of their success to the many parents, fans and supporters whose moral and spiritual encouragement have remained 46 fervent throughout the season; and 47

48 WHEREAS, they have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and 49 50 attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring honor to St. Andrews Episcopal School; and 51 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to 52 53 recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of our state, who are its future: 54

55 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby 56 57 commend and congratulate the St. Andrews Episcopal School Saints Football Team and their coaches, Head Coach David Bradberry and 58 Assistant Coaches Dan Roach, Joe Ray and Gerald McCall, for their 59 60 phenomenal 2004 season, for winning the District VI Class 2A

32 H. R. No. 05/HR03/R2030 PAGE 2 (DJ\LH)

HR03/R2030

61 Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to their 62 athletic endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
furnished to St. Andrews Episcopal School, Head Coach David
Bradberry, Assistant Coaches Dan Roach, Joe Ray and Gerald McCall,
and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.