By: Representative Blackmon

To: Constitution

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 36

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION PROPOSING AMENDMENTS TO THE 1 2 MISSISSIPPI CONSTITUTION OF 1890, BY AMENDING SECTION 145 TO 3 PROVIDE THAT THE LEGISLATURE SHALL DIVIDE THE SUPREME COURT INTO 4 NINE DISTRICTS WITH ONE JUDGE BEING ELECTED FROM EACH DISTRICT AT A TIME AND IN THE MANNER PROVIDED BY LAW; BY REPEALING SECTIONS 5 б 145-A AND 145-B, MISSISSIPPI CONSTITUTION OF 1890, WHICH PROVIDE 7 FOR SIX JUDGES IN ADDITION TO THE ORIGINAL THREE JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT; AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES. 8

9 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF 10 MISSISSIPPI, That the following amendments to the Mississippi 11 Constitution of 1890 are proposed to the qualified electors of the 12 state:

13

1/

I.

Amend Section 145, Mississippi Constitution of 1890, to read as follows:

"Section 145. The Supreme Court shall consist of nine (9) 16 judges, any five (5) of whom, when convened, shall form a quorum. 17 18 The Legislature shall divide the state into nine (9) Supreme Court 19 districts, and there shall be elected one (1) judge for and from each district by the qualified electors thereof at a time and in 20 the manner provided by law; but the removal of a judge to the 21 State Capitol during his term of office shall not render him 22 23 ineligible as his own successor for the districts from which he has removed. \* \* \* The adoption of this amendment shall not 24 25 abridge the terms of any of the present incumbents, but they shall continue to hold their respective offices until the expiration of 26 the terms for which they were respectively appointed." 27

28

29

## II.

Repeal Section 145A, Mississippi Constitution of 1890, which

30 reads as follows:

H. C. R. No. 36 \*HRO3/R982\* 05/hr03/r982 PAGE 1 (jwb\lh)

"Section 145A. The Supreme Court shall consist of six (6) 31 32 judges, that is to say, of three (3) judges in addition to the 33 three (3) provided for by Section 145 of this Constitution, any 34 four (4) of whom when convened shall form a quorum. The 35 additional judges herein provided for shall be selected one (1) 36 for and from each of the Supreme Court districts in the manner provided by Section 145 of this Constitution, or any amendments 37 thereto. Their terms of office shall be as provided by Section 38 149 of this Constitution, or any amendment thereto." 39

40

III.

41 Repeal Section 145B, Mississippi Constitution of 1890, which
42 reads as follows:

The Supreme Court shall consist of nine (9) 43 "Section 145B. judges, that is to say, of three (3) judges in addition to the six 44 (6) provided for by Section 145A of this Constitution, any five 45 (5) of whom when convened shall constitute a quorum. 46 The 47 additional judges herein provided for shall be selected one (1) 48 for and from each of the Supreme Court districts in the manner provided by Section 145A of this Constitution or any amendment 49 50 thereto. Their terms of office shall be as provided by Section 149 of this Constitution or any amendment thereto." 51

52 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That these proposed amendments shall 53 be submitted by the Secretary of State to the qualified electors 54 at an election to be held on the first Tuesday after the first 55 Monday of November 2006, as provided by Section 273 of the 56 Constitution and by general law, with the amendments in this 57 resolution being voted on as one (1) amendment since the proposed 58 amendments pertain to one (1) subject.

59 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the explanation of this proposed 60 amendment for the ballot shall read as follows: "This proposed 61 constitutional amendment provides that the Legislature shall 62 divide the Supreme Court into nine districts with one judge being

H. C. R. No. 36 \*HRO3/R982\* 05/HR03/R982 PAGE 2 (JWB\LH) 63 elected from each district at a time and in the manner provided by 64 law."

65 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Attorney General of the 66 State of Mississippi shall submit this resolution, immediately 67 upon adoption by the Legislature, to the Attorney General of the 68 United States or to the United States District Court for the 69 District of Columbia in accordance with the provisions of the 70 Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended and extended.