By: Representatives Barnett, Moak

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 35

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 1 2 BROOKHAVEN HIGH SCHOOL PANTHERS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING SEASON OF PLAY FOR 2004 AND WINNING THE MISSISSIPPI 3 4 HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION CLASS 4A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP. WHEREAS, ranked number one in the preseason poll, the 5 Brookhaven (Ole Brook) High School Panthers Football Team finished 6 the 2004 season with an impressive record of fourteen wins and one 7 loss, ranked number six in the state and won the Mississippi High 8 9 School Activities Association (MHSAA) Class 4A State Championship; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, the Panthers made their mark in the school's record 12 book finishing the season with a thirteen game winning streak and 13 winning the 2004 Class 4A State Championship by defeating 14 Clarksdale 29-23 before an estimated 12,000 spectators, the first 15 state title in the school's history; and

16 WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon 17 various team members in recognition of their fine, dedicated and superior play and their hard work this season, including: the 18 19 naming of Jimmy Johns as 4A Most Valuable Player, Ronny McNulty as 4A Offensive Player of the Year and Jessie Bowman as 4A Defensive 20 21 Player of the Year; the selection of Michael Thrasher, Bud Chatman, Grant McDonnieal, Taurean Jones, Darius Perkins, Eric 22 23 Edwards, Anthony Caffie, Virgil Sanders and Marlon Dixon to the 24 All-Region First Team; and honorable mention selection of Zach Ray, Tyler Gatlin, Kody Perrett, Charles Wilson, Bart Sias, 25 26 Richard Alvarado, Will Thibodeaux, Brandt Hinton, Orlandus 27 Chapman, Jerome Avery and Montral Smith; and

H. C. R. No. 35 *HRO3/R8O4* 05/HR03/R804 PAGE 1 (DJ\LH)

N1/2

28 WHEREAS, the Panthers have been superbly coached and inspired 29 by Head Coach Tucker Peavey and Assistant Coaches Rod Henderson, 30 Patrick Hardy, Jaymie Palmer, Eric Stokes and Trevor Brister, who 31 have broadened the team's knowledge of the game and refined their 32 skills in execution; and

33 WHEREAS, the Ole Brook coaching staff has brought additional 34 honor to Brookhaven High School by being named "Coaching Staff of 35 the Year"; and

WHEREAS, the Ole Brook Panthers have been supported in their 36 37 athletic endeavors and can attribute much of their success to the many parents, fans and supporters whose moral and spiritual 38 39 encouragement have remained fervent throughout the season; and 40 WHEREAS, the Panthers have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their 41 42 activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring honor to Brookhaven High 43

45 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize 46 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 48 49 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Brookhaven 50 51 High School Panthers Football Team and their coaches, Head Coach Tucker Peavey and Assistant Coaches Rod Henderson, Patrick Hardy, 52 53 Jaymie Palmer, Eric Stokes and Trevor Brister for their phenomenal 54 2004 season, for winning the Class 4A South Mississippi 55 Championship and the Class 4A State Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors. 56

57 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 58 furnished to Brookhaven High School, Head Coach Tucker Peavey and 59 Assistant Coaches Rod Henderson, Patrick Hardy, Jaymie Palmer,

H. C. R. No. 35 *HRO3/R8O4* 05/HR03/R804 PAGE 2 (DJ\LH)

our state, who are its future:

44

47

School; and

60 Eric Stokes and Trevor Brister and to the members of the Capitol61 Press Corps.