By: Senator(s) Little, Dearing, Clarke, Burton, Butler, Chamberlin, Gordon, Jackson (11th), Mettetal, Nunnelee, Posey, Walls To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 19

- 1 A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE DELTA STATE 2 UNIVERSITY "STATESMEN" BASEBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH MIKE KINNISON
- 3 FOR WINNING THEIR FIRST EVER NCAA DIVISION II WORLD SERIES.
- WHEREAS, the Delta State University "Statesmen" Baseball
- 5 Team, in their third-ever trip to the NCAA Division II
- 6 Championship final game (1968, 1978, 2004), are the 2004 NCAA
- 7 Division II National Champions; and
- 8 WHEREAS, in their third time to the NCAA Division II
- 9 Championship game, Coach Mike Kinnison's Statesmen emerged
- 10 victorious, taking a 12-8 victory over Grand Valley (Michigan)
- 11 State University to clinch Delta State's first-ever baseball
- 12 national championship; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Matt McAlpin (10-1) picked up the win for the
- 14 Statesmen, throwing 6-1/3 innings and scattering 9 hits, allowing
- 15 6 runs, 4 earned. Scott Ellison picked up the save after 1-2/3
- 16 innings of relief. Bert Pickard was named tournament MVP, and was
- 17 joined on the All-Tournament Team by teammates Craig Newton and
- 18 Scott Ellison; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the Delta State University Statesmen finished the
- 20 2004 Championship season with a new record of 54 wins against 11
- 21 losses, under the leadership of Head Coach Mike Kinnison (DSU,
- 22 1978), Assistant Coach Rodney Batts, Graduate Assistants Rick
- 23 McCarty, Andy Dillard, and Jeff Price, Managers Gary Hayes and
- 24 Ryan Robertson and Trainer Jason Miller; and
- 25 WHEREAS, the following individual and team honors were earned
- 26 by this championship squad:
- Rawlings/ABCA Division II Coach of the Year:

28		Mike Kinnison
29		Rawlings/ABCA South Central Region Coach of the Year:
30		Mike Kinnison
31		Gulf South Conference Coach of the Year:
32		Mike Kinnison
33	•	Rawlings/ABCA Division II Player of the Year:
34		Jud Thigpen
35		Rawlings/ABCA South Central Region Player of the Year:
36		Jud Thigpen
37	•	Rawlings/ABCA All-America (First Team): Jud Thigpen,
38		Chris Reed
39		Rawlings/ABCA All-America (Second Team): Mark Broome
40	•	Rawlings/ABCA All-South Central Region (First Team):
41		Jud Thigpen, Chris Reed, Craig Newton, Mark Broome
42		Rawlings/ABCA All-South Central Region (Second Team):
43		Josh Barton
44	•	All-Gulf South Conference (First Team):
45		Mark Broome, Eric Patten, Jud Thigpen, Matt McAlpin
46		All-Gulf South Conference (Second Team):
47		Craig Newton, Clay Smith, Chris Reed, Josh Barton
48	•	NCAA Division II Championship Tournament MVP:
49		Bert Pickard
50		NCAA Division II Championship All-Tournament Team:
51		Bert Pickard, Scott Ellison, Craig Newton
52	•	NCAA South Central Region Tournament MVP: Will Waldkirch
53		NCAA South Central Region All-Tournament Team:
54		Will Waldkirch, Craig Newton, Eric Patten, Jud Thigpen,
55		Josh Barton
56	•	Gulf South Conference Tournament MVP: Mark Broome
57		Gulf South Conference All-Tournament Team:
58		Mark Broome, Clay Smith, Chris Reed, Brad Lightsey,
59		Jud Thigpen

50	• Jud Thigpen set a DSU single-season record with his 112
51	hits. Thigpen became the first Statesman to rack up over 100
52	hits in a season. Thigpen's other record set this year is
53	at-bats (261).

- This season marked Delta State's ninth appearance in the NCAA Division II Baseball Championship Tournament, and their third appearance in the Title game.
- Coach Mike Kinnison's 370-96 career record (.794) gives 67 him the best winning percentage among NCAA baseball coaches 68 with at least five years of head coaching experience; and 69 70 WHEREAS, forty years ago, legendary Delta State Coach Boo Ferriss carved a baseball diamond out of a Delta beanfield with a 71 72 vision for a national championship; he, along with dozens of former Statesmen, watched this persistent group of student 73 74 athletes bring honor to their university, the Delta State family,
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Delta
 State University "Statesmen" Baseball Team and Head Coach Mike
 Kinnison for winning their first ever NCAA Division II World
 Series, and extend the best wishes of the Senate to the future
 success of this team.

their community and to the State of Mississippi:

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to the Delta Statesmen Baseball Team, Coach Mike Kinnison and former Coach Boo Ferriss, be forwarded to the President of Delta State University and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.

64

65

66

75