By: Senator(s) Doxey

To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 63

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE HOLLY SPRINGS 1 HIGH SCHOOL BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING 2003-2004 2 3 SEASON AND WINNING THE CLASS 3A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP. 4 WHEREAS, the Holly Springs High School Boys Basketball Team finished the 2003-2004 season with a great record of 30-4; and 5 WHEREAS, the basketball team experienced many triumphs during 6 their season, including winning the District Regular Season 3A 7 8 Championship, Division I-3A Tournament Championship, the North Half 3A Championship and the State Boys 3A Championship; and 9 WHEREAS, the basketball team was marvelously coached and 10 inspired by Head Coach Naylond Hayes and Assistant Coach Joe 11

Inspired by Head Coach Naylond Hayes and Assistant Coach Joe Price, Manager Jarvis Moore, Trainer Rodrico Neely, Cameraman Bobby Pegues and Statisticians Maxine Tucker and Jerrel McDougle who have broadened the players' knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

16 WHEREAS, the coaching staff has brought additional honor to 17 itself and to Holly Springs High School by being given the Key to 18 the City by the Mayor of Holly Springs; and

WHEREAS, several of the team members have been recognized for 19 20 their hard work, dedication and superior play this season, 21 including the selection of Tarrell Wilson as one of the state's 22 "Dandy Dozen" and as a player in the Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Game in Pelham, Alabama; the selection of Kenny Dawkins as a 23 player in the Mississippi State All-Star Game; and the receipt by 24 Kenny Dawkins, Jeremy Bowens and Tarrell Wilson of All-State 25 26 Awards; and

N1/2

WHEREAS, the Holly Springs High School Boys Basketball Team 27 28 has developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a superb degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great 29 30 credit upon their coaches and individual players: Brandon Ayers, 31 Jeremy Bowens, Kenny Dawkins, Dennis Hampton, Clevin Hannah, Eric 32 Jackson, Jeffrey Jones, Justin LeSueur, Deuntral Mosley, Jestin Nabors, Terry Paige, Clifton Rayford and Tarrell Wilson; and 33 34 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the

35 accomplishments of this group of student athletes which has 36 brought honor to its school, its community and to the State of 37 Mississippi:

38 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 39 MISSISSIPPI, That we commend and congratulate the Holly Springs 40 High School Boys Basketball Team for their outstanding 2003-2004 41 season and winning the Class 3A State Championship.

42 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 43 furnished to Holly Springs High School, Coach Naylond Hayes, his 44 assistant coaches and members of the Capitol Press Corps.

S. R. No. 63 *SS26/R1475* 04/SS26/R1475 ST: Commend Holly Springs High School Boys PAGE 2 Basketball Team for winning the Class 3A State Championship.