By: Senator(s) Walley, Lee (47th), Little, To: Rules Thames

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 8

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE GREENE COUNTY HIGH SCHOOL 1 WILDCATS FOOTBALL TEAM UPON WINNING THE MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL 2 3 ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION'S (MHSAA) 3A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP. 4 WHEREAS, Coach Johnny Ainsworth and the Greene County High School Wildcats Football Team finished the 2003 season with an 5 impressive record of eleven wins and four losses; and 6 7 WHEREAS, throughout the regular season and playoffs, the 8 Wildcats fought and defeated many well-contended teams, and captured the Mississippi High School Activities Association's 9 (MHSAA) Class 3A State Championship; and 10

11 WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon 12 various team members in recognition of their fine, dedicated and 13 superior play and their hard work this season, including the 14 naming of three players, Carlos Moody, Travis Hicks and Michael 15 Holder to the First Team All-State 3A and three players to the 2nd 16 Team All-State 3A, Jason Anderson, Lance Moore and Clay Clark; and

WHEREAS, seven Wildcats, Tommy Lott, Carlos Moody, Jason
Anderson, Clay Clark, Travis Hicks, Michael Holder and Lance
Moore, were named to the Division 8-3A All-Division Team and eight
Wildcats, Dillon McInnis, Drew Hollinghead, Jon Maxie, Anthony
Smith, Zack Harvison, Charles Dueitt, Josh Jordan and Justin
Pipkins, received Division 8-3A All-Division honorable mentions;
and

24 WHEREAS, several of the Wildcats named to the Division 8-3A 25 All-Division Team received the Most Valuable Player awards for 26 their offensive or defensive positions, including: Dillon 27 McInnis, wide receiver; Jason Anderson, running back; Lance Moore,

S. R. No. 8 *SS26/R856* 04/SS26/R856 PAGE 1

N1/2

28 corner back; Carlos Moody, corner back; Clay Clark, defensive end;29 Michael Holder, defensive tackle; and Jon Maxie, kicker; and

30 WHEREAS, several key players have received individual honors, 31 including: Travis Hicks, Defensive Player of the Year; and Carlos 32 Moody, Tommy Lott and Jason Anderson, all Encore Players of the 33 Year; and

34 WHEREAS, the Greene County High School Wildcats have been 35 superbly coached and inspired by Coach Johnny Ainsworth and 36 Assistant Coaches Terry James, Steven Hampton, Fred McCann, Shaun 37 Walley and Scott Bray, who have broadened the Wildcats' knowledge 38 of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

39 WHEREAS, Coach Johnny Ainsworth whose record at Greene County 40 boasts 67 wins and only 20 losses, and overall record of 89-30, 41 gives much credibility to the additional honor he has achieved for 42 himself and for Greene County High School as 2003 Class 3A "Coach 43 of the Year"; and

WHEREAS, the Greene County High School Wildcats have been supported in their athletic endeavors and contribute much of their success to the many parents, fans and supporters whose moral and spiritual encouragement have remained fervent throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, the Wildcats have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring honor to Greene County High School; and

54 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the 55 outstanding accomplishment of this group of student athletes who 56 have brought honor to their school, community and to the State of 57 Mississippi:

58 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 59 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Greene 60 County High School Wildcats Football Team and their coaches, Coach 5. R. No. 8 *SS26/R856* 04/SS26/R856 PAGE 2

Johnny Ainsworth, and Assistant Coaches Terry James, Steven 61 Hampton, Fred McCann, Shaun Walley and Scott Bray for their 62 phenomenal 2003 season for winning the Mississippi High School 63 64 Activities Association's (MHSAA) Class 3A State Championship and 65 for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 66 presented to Greene County High School Football Team, Coach Johnny 67 Ainsworth, and be made available to the members of the Capitol 68 69 Press Corps.