By: Senator(s) Walley

To: Rules

## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 6

1	A RES	OLUTION	COMMEND	ING AND	CONGRATI	ULATING	THE	WAYNE	COUNTY
2	TITATI GATIOO	T TATA TO TO				TITIC OTT		TD TATO	2002

- 2 HIGH SCHOOL WAR EAGLES FOOTBALL TEAM FOR ITS OUTSTANDING 2003 3 SEASON AND FOR WINNING THE STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
- 4 WHEREAS, the Wayne County High School War Eagles Football
- 5 Team finished the 2003 season with an exceptional record of 14-1;
- 6 and
- WHEREAS, throughout their season the War Eagles participated
- 8 in playoffs, which included victories as the 4A South State
- 9 Champions and 4A State Champions; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Wayne County High School War Eagles have won
- 11 back-to-back state championships, winning the 5A State
- 12 Championship in 2002; and
- WHEREAS, the War Eagles were superbly coached and inspired by
- 14 Coach Marcus Boyles and Assistant Coaches Todd Mangum, Marvin
- 15 Chapman, Kelly Murphy, Tim Blackwell, Todd Breland, Will Mason,
- 16 Mike Gavin, Steve Womack, Terry Evans, Chad Collums and Jody
- 17 Singleton, who have broadened the players' knowledge of the game
- 18 and refined their skills in execution; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Coach Marcus Boyles has brought additional honor to
- 20 himself and to Wayne County High School by being selected as Coach
- 21 of the Year by the Mississippi Association of Coaches; and
- 22 WHEREAS, several of the War Eagles have been recognized for
- 23 their hard work, dedication and superior play this season,
- 24 including the naming of Steve Gandy, Jerrel Powe, Michael
- 25 McLaughlin and Cedric Jones as All-State Players and WDAM All-Area
- 26 Team Members; and

27	WHEREAS, Steve Gandy, Alban Rankin, Jerrel Powe, Michael						
28	McLaughlin, Jerrod Sims, DaShawn Smith, Cedric Jones, Marzell						
29	McGill and Mario Odom were also recognized for their outstanding						
30	skills in football and were selected as All-District Team Members;						
31	and						
32	WHEREAS, the Wayne County High School War Eagles, which had						
33	six shutouts this season, have developed a winning and cooperative						
34	spirit and a superb degree of sportsmanship, and their activities						
35	and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and						
36	their coaches and bring great honor to Wayne County High School;						
37	and						
38	WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the						
39	outstanding accomplishment of this group of student athletes who						
40	have brought honor to their school, community and to the State of						
41	Mississippi:						
42	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF						
43	MISSISSIPPI, That we commend and congratulate the Wayne County						
44	High School War Eagles Football Team and Coach Marcus Boyles for						
45	their outstanding 2003 season for winning the state championship						
46	and for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.						
47	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be						
48	presented to the Wayne County High School Football Team and Coach						
49	Marcus Boyles, and members of the Capitol Press Corps.						