By: Senator(s) Tollison, Michel, Chamberlin To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 611

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE
2	UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI "OLE MISS REBELS" FOOTBALL TEAM, COACH
3	DAVID CUTCLIFFE AND QUARTERBACK ELI MANNING FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING
4	2003 SEASON, FOR WINNING THE SEC WESTERN DIVISION TITLE AND FOR
5	WINNING THE 2004 COTTON BOWL CLASSIC IN DALLAS, TEXAS.
5	WHEREAS, 2003 was a landmark year in the history of "Ole Miss
7	Rebel" Football; and

- 8 WHEREAS, Ole Miss finished the 2003 football season with a
- 9 10-3 overall record, which included a 7-1 mark in the Southeastern
- 10 Conference, as the Rebels shared the SEC Western Division title
- 11 with BCS National Champion LSU; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Ole Miss defeated Oklahoma State, 31-28, in the 2004
- 13 SBC Cotton Bowl Classic in Dallas, Texas, as quarterback Eli
- 14 Manning was selected Offensive Player of the Game and defensive
- 15 lineman Josh Cooper was named Defensive Player of the Game.
- 16 Defensive back Wes Scott received the Scholar-Athlete Award; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the 2004 SBC Cotton Bowl Classic marked Ole Miss'
- 18 31st all-time bowl appearance, tying the Rebels with Florida for
- 19 15th on the NCAA Division 1-A's all-time list of bowl appearances
- 20 and the victory over Oklahoma State left the Rebels with a 19-12
- 21 bowl record, which ties for 10th on the NCAA Division 1-A's list
- 22 for bowl victories. In the final national polls, Ole Miss was
- 23 ranked No. 13 by The Associated Press, No. 14 by USA Today/ESPN
- 24 and No. 14 by the FWAA Grantland Rice Super 16 board; and
- 25 WHEREAS, Head Coach David Cutcliffe was named Southeastern
- 26 Conference Coach of the Year by the SEC Coaches and Co-Coach of
- 27 the Year by the Associated Press. He was also selected NCAA

```
Division 1-A Region 2 Coach of the Year by the American Football
28
29
    Coaches Association; and
         WHEREAS, Quarterback Eli Manning and kicker Jonathan Nichols
30
    both earned first team All-American honors, while Manning,
31
32
    Nichols, wide receiver Chris Collins, offensive guard Doug Buckles
33
    and defensive tackle Jesse Mitchell were named first team All-SEC
34
    and punter Cody Ridgeway made the All-SEC second team; and
         WHEREAS, Quarterback Eli Manning received the Maxwell Award
35
    as the nation's top player, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award as
36
37
    the nation's top senior quarterback and the Conerly Trophy as
38
    Mississippi's Player of the Year. He was also a finalist for the
    Heisman trophy, finishing third, was selected as Mississippi's
39
40
    Amateur Athlete of the Year by the Jackson Touchdown Club, was
    chosen as the 2003 Sports Person of the Year in Mississippi by The
41
    Clarion-Ledger, and received the Colonel Earl (Red) Blaik
42
    Leadership Award from the All-America Football Foundation.
43
44
    was named Southeastern Conference Player of the Year, the SEC
    Offensive Player of the Year, the Birmingham Monday Morning
45
    Quarterback Club's SEC Most Valuable Back and the Touchdown Club
46
47
    of Atlanta Southeast's Top Offensive Back, while kicker Jonathan
    Nichols was named SEC Special Teams Player of the Year.
48
                                                             Eli was
49
    named one of the NCAA's Today's Top VIII student-athletes, the
    highest honor the NCAA presents to student-athletes, and also
50
51
    received the 2003 Sporting News Radio Socrates Award, which
52
    recognizes a collegiate student-athlete who demonstrates
    excellence in academics, athletics and citizenship; and
53
54
         WHEREAS, Kicker Jonathan Nichols received the Lou Groza Award
55
    as the nation's top kicker. Linebacker Jamil Northcutt was named
56
    to the American Football Coaches Association Good Works Team and
    quarterback Eli Manning was named to the Southeastern Conference
57
```

Good Works Team. Wide receiver Chris Collins participated in the

East-West Shrine Classic; and

58

59

```
60
         WHEREAS, as a team, Ole Miss led the Southeastern Conference
61
    in scoring offense (34.0), pass offense (286.0), kickoff returns
    (23.7), total offense (433.2), punting (39.0), pass efficiency
62
63
    (150.7), third down conversions (45.6), red zone offense (90.0),
64
    field goals (.862) and PAT kicking (1.000). Ole Miss broke
65
    single-season school records for first downs (295), total points
66
    scored (442) and total offensive yards per game (433.2); and
         WHEREAS, Quarterback Eli Manning led the Southeastern
67
    Conference in passing average per game (276.9) and total offense
68
69
    (274.8), while wide receiver Chris Collins led the SEC in pass
70
    receptions per game (5.92) and kicker Jonathan Nichols led the SEC
    in scoring per game (9.5), scoring by kicking 9.5, field goal
71
72
    percentage (86.2) and PAT kicking percentage (100.0).
                                                            Quarterback
73
    Eli Manning, who set 47 Ole Miss single-game, season and career
74
    records became the fifth quarterback in SEC history to throw for
    10,000 yards in a career as he finished with 10,119 passing yards,
75
76
    ranking fifth on the SEC's all-time list; and
77
         WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the stellar
    accomplishments of this group of student athletes who have brought
78
79
    honor to their university, their community and to the State of
80
    Mississippi:
         NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
81
    MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
82
83
    we do hereby commend and congratulate the University of
84
    Mississippi "Ole Miss Rebels" Football Team, Coach David Cutcliffe
    and award-winning Quarterback Eli Manning for their outstanding
85
86
    2003 season, for winning the SEC Western Division Title and for
    winning the 2004 Cotton Bowl Classic in Dallas, Texas, and extend
87
    the best wishes of the Legislature on their future successes.
88
         BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
89
    Coach Cutcliffe and the 2003 Ole Miss Football Team, be forwarded
90
91
    to Chancellor Robert Khayat and be made available to the Capitol
92
    Press Corps.
```

SS01/R1410

and Coach David Cutcliffe.

Commend 2003 Ole Miss Rebel Football Team

ST:

S. C. R. No. 611 04/SS01/R1410

PAGE 3