To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Little, Gordon, Browning, Burton, Butler, Carmichael, Chamberlin, Chaney, Clarke, Dawkins, Dearing, Frazier, Harden, Hewes, Hyde-Smith, Jackson (11th), Jackson (15th), Jackson (32nd), Kirby, Lee (35th), Mettetal, Moffatt, Nunnelee, Pickering, Posey, Robertson, Simmons, Thomas, Walls

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 598

| 1 2 3 4 | A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE MISSISSIPPI STATE UNIVERSITY BULLDOG BASKETBALL TEAM UPON WINNING THE SEC BASKETBALL TITLE AND FOR ADVANCING TO THE NCAA TOURNAMENT FOR THE THIRD CONSECUTIVE YEAR. |
|------------------|---|
| 5 | WHEREAS, the Mississippi State University (MSU) Bulldog |
| 6 | Basketball Team won the Southeastern Conference regular season |
| 7 | title with an impressive 14-2 conference record; and |
| 8 | WHEREAS, the Bulldogs clinched the title with a heart |
| 9 | stopping 82-81 overtime victory over Alabama; and |
| 10 | WHEREAS, the Bulldogs overcame a 16 point deficit with less |
| 11 | than 9 minutes remaining in the game with a tenacious defense and |
| 12 | aggressive offense to remain undefeated on the road; and |
| 13 | WHEREAS, the Bulldogs became the first MSU team in school |
| 14 | history to reach 25 wins during the regular season; and |
| 15 | WHEREAS, the "never-say-die" attitude of the bulldogs ignited |
| 16 | the enthusiasm of bulldog fans who responded by establishing |
| 17 | all-time, single-season attendance records in every category; and |
| 18 | WHEREAS, resiliency and dogged determination to win were the |
| 19 | hallmarks of this remarkable Bulldog team; and |
| 20 | WHEREAS, special honors were garnered by Lawrence Roberts and |
| 21 | Timmy Bowers who were selected as first team All-SEC; and |
| 22 | WHEREAS, Senior Co-Captain Timmy Bowers completed his career |
| 23 | as the all-time winningest player in MSU basketball history with |
| 24 | 92 career wins; and |
| 25 | WHEREAS, Lawrence Roberts was also named SEC Player of the |
| 26 | Year and was the school's first AP First Team All-American since |

Hall of Famer, Bailey Howell; and

PAGE 1

27

- WHEREAS, Coach Rick Stansbury was named SEC Coach of the Year
- 29 by the Associated Press; and
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 31 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 32 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Mississippi State
- 33 University Bulldog Basketball team players: Billy Begley, Errol
- 34 Bennett, Michael Boler, Timmy Bowers, Dennis Buse, Marcus
- 35 Campbell, Gary Ervin, Winsome Frazier, Ontario Harper, Terry
- 36 Licorish, Wesley Morgan, Shane Power, Lawrence Roberts, Dietric
- 37 Slater, Lincoln Smith, Piotr Stelmach and Branden Vincent,
- 38 and Coaches: Rick Stansbury, Head Coach, Robert Kirby, Phil
- 39 Cunningham, and Sam Weaver, Assistant Coaches and Mark White,
- 40 Coordinator of Men's Basketball Operations, upon winning the SEC
- 41 regular season title and advancing to the NCAA Tournament for the
- 42 third consecutive year.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 44 presented to the players and coaches of the Mississippi State
- 45 University Basketball Team, be forwarded to the President of
- 46 Mississippi State University and be made available to the Capitol
- 47 Press Corps.