By: Senator(s) Walls, Simmons, Clarke

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 593

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING	THE
---	-----

- BENOIT-RAY BROOKS HIGH SCHOOL "TIGERS" FOR WINNING ITS SECOND 2
- CONSECUTIVE CLASS 1A STATE BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP AND ITS OUTSTANDING 2003-2004 SEASON. 3
- 4
- 5 WHEREAS, the Benoit-Ray Brooks High School "Tigers"
- Basketball Team won its second consecutive Class 1A State 6
- Championship on Saturday, March 13, 2004, with a thrilling 54-50 7
- victory over Byers High School, before an estimated crowd of 3,500 8
- 9 at the Mississippi Coliseum; Ray Brooks held its ground after
- 10 Byers mounted a furious comeback attempt during the final quarter;
- 11 and
- WHEREAS, Ray Brooks High School is the smallest school in the 12
- State of Mississippi, with an enrollment of under 300 students, 13
- and with this victory, the student body and the community of 14
- Benoit went home with back-to-back championships to call their 15
- 16 own; and
- WHEREAS, Ray Brooks High School, which completed this 17
- outstanding season with a record of 23-9 is only in its third year 18
- 19 of existence; originally, the students in Benoit attended West
- Bolivar in Rosedale, but these students have a new school to 20
- 21 attend and another championship to celebrate as their own; and
- WHEREAS, on their way to the State Championship, the Ray 22
- 23 Brooks Tigers won their District Championship and the Class 1A
- 24 South-Half Title; and
- WHEREAS, the Tigers were a very physical team, ably coached 25
- 26 by Head Coach S.C. Cannon and Assistant Coaches Dexter Bryant,
- 27 Jerry Walker, Terry Leonard and Peris Leonard; and

28 WHEREAS, Senior Guard James Giles (who was awarded prior to 29 the championship game the coveted and prestigious "Big Dog" Award 30 by the Mississippi National Guard), Junior Guard Jimmie Kimble and 31 Senior Forward Jeffrey Phillips were named to the All-Tournament 32 Team; and 33 WHEREAS, the 2004 roster of this championship team is as #14 Christopher Brooks, #11 Elliott Davis, #55 Adrian 34 follows: Dillard, #5 James Giles, #32 Lavarus Giles, #20 Corderro Ireland, 35 #22 Jimmy Kimble, #00 Damien Leslie, #10 David Leslie, #12 Wayne 36 Leslie, #4 Travis McGee, #21 Eric Nelson, #3 Kozialski Nelson, #15 37 38 Jeffrey Phillips, Johnny Lewis - Manager, Lorenzo Thomas -39 Manager, Anthony Rivera - Manager, Teela Rivera - Bookkeeper; and 40 WHEREAS, according to the players that made it happen, capturing the school's second straight State Title was all a 41 matter of having faith in each other; and 42 WHEREAS, it is with pride that we recognize the special 43 44 accomplishments of this team which brought honor and identity to 45 their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi: NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 46 47 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 48 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Benoit-Ray Brooks High 49 School "Tigers" Basketball Team, Head Coach S.C. Cannon, Principal Barbara C. Akon, Superintendent Dr. Suzanne Hawley and Associate 50 51 Superintendent Sherry Shepard for their second consecutive State 52 Class 1A Championship and their outstanding 2003-2004 season, and extend to them the best wishes of the Legislature for future 53 54 scholastic and athletic successes. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 55 Coach Cannon and the team and the Principal of Benoit-Ray Brooks 56 High School, Barbara C. Akon, and be made available to the Capitol 57

Press Corps.

58