By: Senator(s) Harden, Burton, Chamberlin, Chaney, Dearing, Harvey, Jackson (15th), Jackson (32nd), Jordan, Little, Pickering, Thames, Williamson

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 543

| 1 2 3 | A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHI THETA KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF "MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY." |
|-------------|---|
| 4 | WHEREAS, on March 24, 2004, members of Phi Theta Kappa, an |
| 5 | esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges, which |
| 6 | has its international headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, will |
| 7 | celebrate "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day"; and |
| 8 | WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the |
| 9 | outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's |
| 10 | All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful |
| 11 | community and junior college students assembled by the Mississipp |
| 12 | State Board for Community and Junior Colleges to participate in |
| 13 | the Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team competition; |
| 14 | and |
| 15 | WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as |
| 16 | members of the 2003 All-Mississippi Academic Team: Pamela Brown, |
| 17 | Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Carla Hickmon, Coahoma |
| 18 | Community College in Clarksdale; Brandy Bonsall, Copiah-Lincoln |
| 19 | Community College in Natchez; Jessica Paul, Copiah-Lincoln |
| 20 | Community College in Natchez; Brittany Greer, Copiah-Lincoln |
| 21 | Community College in Wesson; Randall Watkins, Copiah-Lincoln |
| 22 | Community College in Wesson; Ashley Fleming, East Central |
| 23 | Community College in Decatur; Jenna Talbert, East Central |
| 24 | Community College in Decatur; Emily Fulgham, East Mississippi |
| 25 | Community College in Scooba; Jessica Harpole, East Mississippi |
| 26 | Community College in Scooba; Dorothy Gregg, East Mississippi |
| | |

Community College in Mayhew; Amy Latham, East Mississippi

PAGE 1

27

```
28
    Community College in Mayhew; LaCrystal Jones, Hinds Community
29
    College in Jackson; Kanosho Thompson, Hinds Community College in
30
    Jackson; Patricia Sharp, Hinds Community College (Nursing/Allied
    Health) in Jackson; Carrie Horton, Hinds Community College in
31
32
    Pearl; Jack Smith, Hinds Community College in Pearl; Matthew
33
    Utter, Hinds Community College in Raymond; Kasandra Henderson,
34
    Hinds Community College in Utica; La Tonya Moore, Hinds Community
    College in Utica; Amy Cunningham, Hinds Community College in
35
    Vicksburg; Segunna Thomas, Hinds Community College in Vicksburg;
36
37
    Amanda Johnsey, Holmes Community College in Goodman; Jacob Peeler,
38
    Holmes Community College in Goodman; Mitchell Harville, Holmes
    Community College in Grenada; Philip Metcalf, Holmes Community
39
40
    College in Ridgeland; Anthony Williams, Holmes Community College
41
    in Ridgeland; Heather Gausline, Itawamba Community College in
    Fulton; James Mitchell, Itawamba Community College in Fulton;
42
    Aquilla Boles, Itawamba Community College in Tupelo; Congetta
43
44
    Gieger, Jones County Junior College in Ellisville; Stacey Wilson,
45
    Jones County Junior College in Ellisville; Leanna McLaughlin,
    Meridian Community College in Meridian; Phyllis Scott, Meridian
46
47
    Community College in Meridian; Kimberly Clark, Mississippi Delta
48
    Community College in Moorhead; Carmon Willingham, Mississippi
49
    Delta Community College in Moorhead; Karen Bishop, Mississippi
    Gulf Coast Community College in Gautier; Ryan McCoy, Mississippi
50
51
    Gulf Coast Community College in Gautier; Diana Gajewski,
52
    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gulfport; Daile Wells,
53
    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gulfport; Lydia
54
    Acklin, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Perkinston;
    Shanah Nelson, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in
55
    Perkinston; David Ashmore, Northeast Mississippi Community College
56
    in Booneville; Nicholas Whipple, Northeast Mississippi Community
57
58
    College in Booneville; Sophie Barnett, Northwest Mississippi
59
    Community College in Southaven; Jeremy Keen, Northwest Mississippi
60
    Community College in Senatobia; Kara Tapp, Northwest Mississippi
```

SS26/R716

543

S. C. R. No. 04/SS26/R716

PAGE 2

- 61 Community College in Senatobia; Heather Ball, Pearl River
- 62 Community College in Hattiesburg; Courtney Matthews, Pearl River
- 63 Community College in Hattiesburg; Amanada Lovelace, Pearl River
- 64 Community College in Poplarville; Stephen Rawls, Pearl River
- 65 Community College in Poplarville; Mallory Magee, Southwest
- 66 Mississippi Community College in Summit; and Emily Polk, Southwest
- 67 Mississippi Community College in Summit; and
- WHEREAS, as members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi
- 69 Academic Team, these students have demonstrated impressive
- 70 intellect, outstanding leadership and a determination to achieving
- 71 academic excellence; and
- 72 WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members
- 73 of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned for
- 74 them and their academic institutions the respect and admiration of
- 75 this Legislature; and
- 76 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the unique
- 77 accomplishments of these students who have brought honor to their
- 78 college, their community and to the State of Mississippi:
- 79 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 80 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 81 we do hereby commend and congratulate the members of Phi Theta
- 82 Kappa and extend our heartiest wishes for success in all their
- 83 future endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 85 furnished to Phi Theta Kappa and to the members of the Capitol
- 86 Press Corps.