By: Representative Rotenberry

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 32

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE SIMPSON COUNTY 1 ACADEMY COUGARS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING 2003 SEASON 2 3 AND FOR WINNING THE AA STATE CHAMPIONSHIP. 4 WHEREAS, the Simpson County Academy Football Team finished the 2003 season with an exceptional record of 13 wins and no 5 losses; and 6 7 WHEREAS, throughout their season the Cougars participated in 8 playoffs, which included victories as the AA South State Champions 9 and the AA State Champions; and WHEREAS, the Cougars have been superbly coached and inspired 10 by Head Coach Billy Hankins and Assistant Coaches David Holbrook, 11 Tim Ellison, Neil Bartling, Shey Patterson and Keith Zimmerman, 12

13 who have broadened the Bulldogs' knowledge of the game and refined 14 their skills in execution; and

WHEREAS, Coach Hankins has brought additional honor to himself and to Simpson County Academy by being selected as AA Coach of the Year by the Mississippi Private Association and served as All-Star Coach; and

19 WHEREAS, several of the Cougars have been recognized for 20 their fine, dedicated and superior play this season, including the 21 naming of Ken Garner, Neil Lewis and Jack Hayes as All-State 22 Players; and

WHEREAS, Ken Garner, Neil Lewis, Jack Hayes, Preston Harris,
Justin Duckworth, Brian Little, Shannon Steed, Justin Sanford,
Justin Blair, Alan Buffington and Aarron Sullivan were also
recognized for their outstanding skills in football and were
selected as All-District Team Members; and

H. R. No. 32 *HR07/R1856* 04/HR07/R1856 PAGE 1 (DJ\HS)

N1/2

28 WHEREAS, the Simpson County Academy Cougars, which had six 29 shutouts this season, have developed a winning and cooperative 30 spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities 31 and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and 32 their coaches and bring honor to Simpson County Academy; and 33 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize 34 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of

our state, who are its future:

35

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 36 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we commend and 37 38 congratulate the Simpson County Academy Cougars Football Team and their coaches, Head Coach Billy Hankins and Assistant Coaches 39 40 David Holbrook, Tim Ellison, Neil Bartling, Shey Patterson and Keith Zimmerman, for their outstanding 2003 season, for winning 41 the AA State Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to 42 their athletic endeavors. 43

BE IF FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Simpson County Academy, Head Coach Billy Hankins and Assistant Coaches David Holbrook, Tim Ellison, Neil Bartling, Shey Patterson and Keith Zimmerman and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.