1

By: Representatives Akins, Gadd, McBride, To: Rules Reynolds

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 68

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE

OXFORD HIGH SCHOOL CHARGERS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING 2 3 SEASON OF PLAY FOR 2003. 4 WHEREAS, the Oxford High School Chargers Football Team finished the 2003 season with an impressive record of ten wins and 5 five losses; and 6 WHEREAS, the Chargers made their mark twice in the school's 7 8 history by winning the Class 4A North Half State Championship for the first time and making its first appearance in the Class 4A 9 10 State Championship; and WHEREAS, their appearance in the state championship match 11 12 also was a first in the state playoff system in football that a 13 fourth seated team advanced so far; and WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon 14 15 various team members in recognition of their fine, dedicated and superior play and their hard work this season, including the 16 naming of Lance Lee, Anthony Mitchell and Ken Smith to the 17 18 All-State Team and Ken Smith's honor of being selected Most Valuable Offensive Player in Class 4A; and 19 20 WHEREAS, the Chargers have been superbly coached and inspired 21 by Head Coach Johnny Hill and Assistant Coaches Lance Evans, Jim McCay, Shane Stone, Eric Robertson, Bradley Roberson, Curtis West, 22 Don Hoggard and Lee Jackson, who have broadened the team's 23 knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and 24 WHEREAS, the coaching staff has brought additional honor to 25 26 Oxford High School by being voted "Coaching Staff of the Year" for two consecutive years in District 2 of the 4A Region; and 27

H. C. R. No. 68 \*HR07/R1333\* 04/HR07/R1333 PAGE 1 (DJ\HS)

N1/2

28 WHEREAS, the Chargers have been supported in their athletic 29 endeavors and can attribute much of their success to the many 30 parents, fans and supporters whose moral and spiritual encouragement have remained fervent throughout the season; and 31 32 WHEREAS, they have developed a winning and cooperative spirit 33 and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and 34 their coaches and bring honor to Oxford High School; and 35 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize 36 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of 37

38 our state, who are its future:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 39 40 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Oxford 41 High School Chargers Football Team and their coaches, Head Coach 42 Johnny Hill, and Assistant Coaches Lance Evans, Jim McCay, Shane 43 Stone, Eric Robertson, Bradley Roberson, Curtis West, Don Hoggard 44 and Lee Jackson for their phenomenal 2003 season, for winning the 45 North Half Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to 46 47 their athletic endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Oxford High School, Head Coach Johnny Hill, Assistant Coaches Lance Evans, Jim McCay, Shane Stone, Eric Robertson, Bradley Roberson, Curtis West, Don Hoggard and Lee Jackson and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.