By: Representatives Pierce, Taylor

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 40

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE GREENE COUNTY HIGH 1 2 SCHOOL WILDCATS FOOTBALL TEAM UPON WINNING THE MISSISSIPPI HIGH 3 SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION'S (MHSAA) CLASS 3A STATE 4 CHAMPIONSHIP. 5 WHEREAS, Coach Johnny Ainsworth and the Greene County High School Wildcats Football Team finished the 2003 season with an 6 impressive record of eleven wins and four losses; and 7 WHEREAS, throughout the regular season and playoffs, the 8 9 Wildcats fought and defeated many well-contended teams, and 10 captured the Mississippi High School Activities Association's (MHSAA) Class 3A State Championship; and 11 WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon 12 various team members in recognition of their fine, dedicated and 13 superior play and their hard work this season, including the 14 naming of three players, Carlos Moody, Travis Hicks and Michael 15 Holder to the First Team All-State 3A and three players to the 16 17 Second Team All-State 3A, Jason Anderson, Lance Moore and Clay 18 Clark; and 19 WHEREAS, seven Wildcats, Tommy Lott, Carlos Moody, Jason Anderson, Clay Clark, Travis Hicks, Michael Holder and Lance 20 21 Moore, were named to the Division 8-3A All-Division Team and eight Wildcats, Dillon McInnis, Drew Hollinghead, Jon Maxie, Anthony 22 23 Smith, Zack Harvison, Charles Dueitt, Josh Jordan and Justin Pipkins, received Division 8-3A All-Division honorable mention; 24 25 and

26 WHEREAS, several of the Wildcats named to the Division 8-3A
27 All-Division Team, received the Most Valuable Player awards for
28 their offensive or defensive positions, including: Dillon
H. C. R. No. 40 \*HR03/R798.1\* N1/2
04/HR03/R798.1
PAGE 1 (DJ\LH)

29 McInnis, wide receiver; Jason Anderson, running back; Lance Moore, 30 corner back; Carlos Moody, corner back; Clay Clark, defensive end; 31 Michael Holder, defensive tackle and Jon Maxie, kicker; and

32 WHEREAS, several key players have received individual honors, 33 including: Travis Hicks, Defensive Player of the Year; and Carlos 34 Moody, Tommy Lott and Jason Anderson, all Encore Players of the 35 Year; and

36 WHEREAS, the Greene County High School Wildcats have been 37 superbly coached and inspired by head coach Johnny Ainsworth and 38 assistant coaches Terry James, Steven Hampton, Fred McCann, Shaun 39 Walley and Scott Bray, who have broadened the Wildcats' knowledge 40 of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

41 WHEREAS, head coach Johnny Ainsworth whose record at Greene 42 County boasts 67 wins and only 20 losses, and overall record of 43 89-30 gives much credibility to the additional honor he has 44 achieved for himself and for Greene County High School as 2003 45 Class 3A "Coach of the Year"; and

46 WHEREAS, the Greene County High School Wildcats have been 47 supported in their athletic endeavors and contribute much of their 48 success to the many parents, fans and supporters whose moral and 49 spiritual encouragement have remained fervent throughout the 50 season; and

51 WHEREAS, the Wildcats have developed a winning and 52 cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their 53 activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual 54 players and their coaches and bring honor to Greene County High 55 School; and

56 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize 57 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of 58 our state, who are its future:

59 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 60 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING 61 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Greene H. C. R. No. 40 \*HRO3/R798.1\* 04/HR03/R798.1 PAGE 2 (DJ\LH) 62 County High School Wildcats Football Team and their coaches, head 63 coach Johnny Ainsworth, and assistant coaches Terry James, Steven 64 Hampton, Fred McCann, Shaun Walley and Scott Bray for their 65 phenomenal 2003 season, for winning the MHSAA Class 3A State 66 Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to their 67 athletic endeavors.

68 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 69 furnished to Greene County High School, head coach Johnny 70 Ainsworth, assistant coaches Terry James, Steven Hampton, Fred 71 McCann, Shaun Walley and Scott Bray and to the members of the 72 Capitol Press Corps.