2004 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Frazier, Harden, Walls, Thomas, Butler, Dawkins, Jackson (11th), Simmons, White

Senate Resolution 19

(As Adopted by Senate)


     WHEREAS, the following persons, the late Dr. Augustus C. Blanks, Dr. Charles C. Mosley and Dr. Ivory C. Manning, Dr. Oscar Allan Rogers, Dr. Leslie Burl McLemore, Dr. Bettye Ward-Fletcher, Dr. Lula S. Collier, Dr. E.C. Foster, Dr. Dorris R. Robinson-Gardner and Dr. Jeffrey D. Zubkowski, have provided exemplary service to Jackson State University in the development of excellence in graduate education during the past fifty years (1954-2004); and

     WHEREAS, through providing leadership for the Graduate Council, Division of Graduate Studies, The Graduate School and individual graduate programs; and

     WHEREAS, fifty-five graduate programs consisting of thirty-nine masters degree programs, six specialists degree programs and ten doctoral degree programs are offered and taught by graduate faculty members; and

     WHEREAS, through their tireless dedication to the educational process, thousands of graduate students have become scholars and professional leaders who will forever be connected to the State of Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, due to the hard work of these graduate administrators and educators, Jackson State University has been propelled from its roots as a regional teacher's college to the doctoral research intensive university it is today; and

     WHEREAS, it is because of the immeasurable contributions of such educators that Jackson State University, with a longstanding tradition of dedicated educators, will continue to grow and reach greater vitality; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Senate of the State of Mississippi to recognize and commend excellence and the exceptional contributions to the field of graduate education in higher learning, especially when evidenced by people who have dedicated so many years of their lives to developing and cultivating the minds and bodies of the many young scholars and professionals with whom they come in contact during their careers:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend all those educators who have provided dedicated and exemplary services to Jackson State University during the past fifty years.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be furnished to the President of Jackson State University, all of the individuals listed above and the Capitol Press Corps.