2004 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Mettetal, Burton, Carmichael, Jackson (11th), Lee (47th), Little, Michel

Senate Concurrent Resolution 539

(As Adopted by Senate)


     WHEREAS, the 9th nationally ranked South Panola High School "Tigers" Football Team (15-0) dominated and crushed the Oak Grove Warriors (14-1) for the MHSAA Class 5A State Championship by a score of 33-14 on Friday, December 5, 2004; and

     WHEREAS, for the third time in six tries in 10 years, the Tigers brought the golden football trophy home to Batesville from Jackson:  ten years ago the South Panola Tigers had a 15-0 season capped with the 5A State Championship, and in 1998 South Panola capped an almost perfect season (14-1) with the State Championship trophy; they have been runner-up by losing the championship game three times in that 10-year period; and

     WHEREAS, critics and scouts around the state and nation are calling the team "The University of South Panola" or "Panola State" to compliment the strength, speed and the play of the Tiger team; and

     WHEREAS, in the 2003 Championship game, South Panola dominated Oak Grove in every area, rushing for 390 yards, passing for 68 yards for a total of 476 offensive yards and only allowed the Warriors 94 rushing yards and 181 passing yards; Tiger junior tailback Marcus Griffin rushed 34 times for 269 yards and two touchdowns and wide receiver Travis Sanford caught two passes for two touchdowns in 46 yards; and

     WHEREAS, the "Tigers" are superbly coached by Head Coach Rick Woods who spoke of the attitude and the work ethic of the team this past season:  "We want our team to play real, real, real hard.  You have to play to win every Friday night, hoping doesn't get you a win, but playing does."  South Panola assistant football coaches are Arnie Oakes, Willis Wright (who led the Tigers to a 15-0 season and state championship 10 years ago) Ron Oakes, Lucian King, Mark Weaver, Tranell Edwards, Michael Fair, Brad Huffman and John Davis; and

     WHEREAS, the Tigers are ranked 9th in the Nation and won the Region 1 Divisional and the North State Championship on their way to the State Championship; and

     WHEREAS, outstanding players on the 2003 edition of the South Panola Tigers include First Team All-State:  Hollis Hoskins, Peria Jerry, Jamarca Sanford, Demario Bobo and Derek Pegues; Second Team All-State:  Quinton Hankins and Marcus Griffin; South Panola has seven players who have more than 40 tackles this season:  Peria Jerry (64), Jamarca Sanford (57), Marcus Johnson, (56), Connie Shegog (46), Demetrice Bishop (42), Kendrell Barksdale (41) and John Jerry (41), which illustrates the defensive strength of this championship team; and

     WHEREAS, the team relied on the support of the hometown crowd, on and off the field, which is especially important in games on the road; and

     WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we salute the championship season of this group of student athletes, who have brought honor to their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the South Panola High School "Tigers" Football Team and Head Coach Ricky Woods for their 2003 MHSAA Class 5A State Championship and their undefeated (15-0) season, and wish them continued success in their athletic and academic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Coach Ricky Woods on behalf of the "Tigers", be forwarded to the Principal of South Panola High School and be made available to The Panolian and to members of the Capitol Press Corps.