2004 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Gadd, Akins, Barnett, Beckett, Brown, Capps, Chism, Denny, Espy, Evans, Fillingane, Fleming, Franks, Green, Guice, Gunn, Howell, Ishee, Lott, Masterson, Mayo, McBride, Miles, Moak, Moody, Moss, Patterson, Peranich, Pierce, Reynolds, Robinson (84th), Rotenberry, Shows, Smith (39th), Staples, Stevens, Upshaw, Vince, Whittington, Woods, Zuber, Rogers (14th)

House Resolution 114

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, the University of Mississippi (Ole Miss) Rebels Football Team had a very outstanding and successful 2003-2004 season of play, finishing the season with an overall record of ten wins and three losses, which included seven wins and one loss mark in the Southeastern Conference (SEC), sharing the SEC Western Division title with the BCS National Champion, LSU; and

     WHEREAS, the Rebels defeated Oklahoma State 31-28 in the 2004 Cotton Bowl Classic in Dallas, Texas, which marked the 31st all-time bowl appearance for Ole Miss, tying with Florida for the 15th position on the NCAA's Division 1-A all-time list of bowl appearances; and

     WHEREAS, this year's victory over Oklahoma State left the Rebels with a bowl record of 19 wins and 12 losses, which ties for tenth on the NCAA's Division 1-A list for bowl victories; and

     WHEREAS, in the final national polls, Ole Miss was ranked No. 13 by the Associated Press, No. 14 by USA Today/ESPN and No. 14 by the FWAA Grantland Rice Super 16 Board; and

     WHEREAS, Ole Miss broke single-season school records for first downs with 295; total points scored with 442; and total offensive yards per game with 433.2; and

     WHEREAS, as a team, the Rebels led the SEC in scoring offense with 34.0; pass offense with 286.0; kick returns with 23.7; total offense with 433.2; punting with 39.0; pass efficiency with 150.7; third down conversions with 45.6; red zone offense with 90.0; field goals with 86.2 percent and PAT kicking with 100 percent; and

     WHEREAS, many individuals on the Rebels team have received numerous honors, recognition and awards for their fine display of athleticism, including:  quarterback, Eli Manning; defensive lineman, Josh Cooper; defensive back, Wes Scott; kicker, Jonathan Nichols; wide receiver, Chris Collins; offensive guard, Doug Buckles; defensive tackle, Jesse Mitchell; punter, Cody Ridgeway and linebacker, Jamil Northcutt; and

     WHEREAS, the Rebels have been superbly coached and inspired by the Ole Miss coaching staff under the leadership and direction of Head Coach David Cutcliffe, who have broadened their knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

     WHEREAS, Head Coach David Cutcliffe has brought additional honor to himself and Ole Miss by being named SEC Coach of the Year by the SEC coaches, Co-Coach of the Year by the Associated Press, and NCAA Division 1-A Region 2 Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association; and

     WHEREAS, the Ole Miss Rebels have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring honor to Ole Miss; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young people of our state, who are its future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Ole Miss Rebels Football Team, Head Coach David Cutcliffe and the entire Rebels Football coaching staff, for all the accomplishments achieved during their 2003-2004 season of play and extend our heartiest wishes for success in all their athletic, educational and professional endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Ole Miss, Head Coach David Cutcliffe and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.