2004 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Carlton, Davis, Fillingane, Frierson, Lott, Vince

House Resolution 41

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, founded in 1904 and named for the distinguished 19th century statesman, L.Q.C. Lamar, Lamar County, Mississippi, will celebrate its Centennial Birthday on March 11, 2004; and

     WHEREAS, located in the pine woods area of southeastern Mississippi, Lamar County, one of the fastest growing counties in the state, encompasses a total area of slightly less than 500 square miles or approximately 319,360 acres; and

     WHEREAS, lying within its borders are the four incorporated cities of Hattiesburg, Purvis, Lumberton and Sumrall, in addition to the unincorporated communities of Oak Grove, Baxterville, Oloh, Bellevue, Rocky Branch, Midway and Okahola; and

     WHEREAS, currently boasting a citizen base of approximately 44,170, the 2000 projected census figures recorded a county population up nearly thirty percent from the previous 10 years with population estimates and projections showing growth at an annual rate of nearly four percent since 1994; and

     WHEREAS, with hundreds of acres of industrial property available in five industrial parks located across the county, Lamar County has experienced strong surges in its retail sales in the last several years; and

     WHEREAS, Lamar County has seen nearly 47 new subdivisions appear in the last three years, which has afforded residents the conveniences of one of Mississippi’s largest and most progressive cities, and yet maintained the quiet serene surroundings of the country and the quality of life the country offers; and

     WHEREAS, offering its residents and countless thousands of visitors a wide variety of recreation activities, such as fishing, hunting, swimming, camping and golfing, Lamar County is home to Little Black Creek Water Park, a 1,300 acre state operated park located between Purvis and Lumberton; Paul B. Johnson State Park; DeSoto National Forest; Pine Creek Golf Club in Purvis; Hillsdale Resort in Lumberton; and the new Jerry Pate designed Canebrake Golf Club; and

     WHEREAS, knowing the value of a quality education, Lamar County is served by two school districts, Lamar County School District and Lumberton School District, which oversee a total of six elementary and four secondary schools; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize and commend the heritage and history of the state's counties, such as Lamar County, whose abundance of riches have contributed to the unique and valuable qualities that make the State of Mississippi unquestionably the greatest state in the nation:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend Lamar County on the occasion of its Centennial Birthday Celebration and extend our heartiest wishes for continued success.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the Lamar County Board of Supervisors and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.